You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Every Writer and Blogger Should be Using Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago

I agree so many gems to find on here! Steemit is amazing for new content and interesting content.

I can't recommend it enough, even if just for practice - and you should definitely write a novel, it's an amazing process to undertake especially on here.

I haven't looked into kindle yet or other platforms like it as I don't have a full and finished story to sell, that is another reason why I love steemit - I am posting my story as I write it and it's honestly the first draft.

But I agree this could be something worth looking into after I have completed my first novel, but I'll have a lot of editing and work to go until then - but anything to get out from under the thumb of publishers controlling your stories fate.

Sort:  

that is another reason why I love steemit - I am posting my story as I write it and it's honestly the first draft.

Very good point, with this kind of publish-in-pieces style you can get more immediate feedback and see if your story is resonating with readers. So you have a chance for course corrections if necessary and the final work will end up being that much more polished. I've seen a lot of authors sharing stories on Steemit this way, and it's something I haven't quite come across before in social media. Great to see Steemit being such a literary melting pot!

Thanks yeah I don't want to leave my writing carer up to a random stranger deciding they think it's marketable, this way I am able to show proof of a following when I eventually get things fully underway.

I also love the idea of having that instant feedback, with editors and publishers they tend to see the whole manuscript this way I can show smaller pieces and change my mind later when I do a second draft etc.

These days there are so many authors trying to get a foot hold in the market but all they are willing to share to acheive this is snippets of the story or a very brief over view - honestly I don't know how I would do that for my story, it is just too big and complex.

If I acheive some modicum of sucess I assume loyal readers would want a hard copy not just digital, and custom art - I think this is where long term monetary gain would occur, but this way I can start gathering readers now who will really be interested in the progress of the characters and the world.

Steemit has an amazing potential specifically for writers, artists and musicians, I believe that all of these industries are insanely hard to "break" into and I think that this is like the youtube for that - youtube is too big now and takes too long to become a big fish, steemit is the place to be now if you want to be a big player later when it really takes off!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63312.28
ETH 2601.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79