Dolphin status, again!

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon, Steemit! I’m at @caffetto after an overbooked afternoon. Seeing friends, making appointments, dropping @guthrie off, picking @guthrie up. Finally, here I am, back at the coffee shop. I just painted by nails with @guthrie. He’s deep in Roblox and I’m sorting my thoughts before I begin editing for the evening. @vermillionfox is getting off of work soon, which is still a peculiar feeling. I think @guthrie and I both took for granted how nice it’s been to have her around all of the time. Ultimately, I think its good for all of us.

I’m thinking a lot about HF21 and HF22. Like I said, in my opinion, beyond faster transactions, DAO proposals, improved curation curves, etc., I feel the most important thing to address is bringing back the enthusiasm. Without that, a lot of these improvements are being cast in to the void. I’m feeling bullish on STEEM, and maybe that’s because I’ve had conversations with friends close to the Steemit engine. Maybe, it’s because communication is improved and promises of development is being delivered. Whatever the case, my enthusiasm is back.

Timing is a big factor. I’ve written […more like vented] about how disgusted I am with Instagram. When I made the decision to delete Facebook just before the New Year, I was asked “…what about Instagram? That’s a Facebook company!”, to which I’d reply, “…one of those platforms brings value to my life; the other does not.”. Now, neither is bringing value to my life and that’s reflected by most of my creative friends. The more outrage I see, the easier it is to flag friends towards Steemit. Rewards for authors and a free speech platform has never looked so good.

This isn’t meant to be a masturbatory post. Of my close friends that field most of my Steemit debate and criticism, @lovejoy and I often say that heaping praise on the platform and project aren’t going to convince anyone that the short comings don’t exist. They do. We’re all aware. We’re still in a recovery phase, but it’s encouraging that we are in fact, recovering. Competing projects, in my opinion, have yet to live up to the achievements Steemit has made […which is probably why so many are clones of Steemit].

All of that said, I just powered up to just over 5,000 STEEM POWER. It’s been a while since I’ve been in the dolphin club and it feels pretty damn good. @vermillionfox just celebrated the same milestone which you can read in her recent post, “Am I a dolphin now?”. I’m relishing in the positive and looking to the future. Keeping the faith, but it’s easier now than ever. Thanks for reading and supporting my journey back to dolphin status. For more photography, art, illustration and thoughts on Steemit, stay right here.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It's awesome to see more quality content creators coming into the space! <3

Congrats. It's a cool club, and I cannot wait to join it. What's next, killer whales and sea lions? I dig it all though, because it's certain: I can power my passions with STEEM.

Yes to all the good stuff coming our way and to you and @vermillionfox dolphin status!!!!❤️

I've been inviting traditional artists and photographers who experience censorship from other platforms as well. The first thing that I tell them is that I am proud of the community here on Steem, particularly the art community. The rewards part is just the bonus. We are very much open-minded about NSFW art unlike Facebook and Instagram. I can never delete my accounts on those platforms though. My real-life connections are there. Clients and art collectors who buy my works are there. That's the only thing I like from them but I am proud to say I focus my energy on Steem.

For people like you who support artists on Steem, thanks! I am more confident to invite new users here because of you. :D

Hello Lars, how are you doing? I am glad you continue to be at Steemit and post all your activities. I feel the HF21 and HF22 policies are now increasingly reducing the opportunities for rewards for stem users who have a small SP like me. I think you are very lucky because you have a large SP. Enjoy your day, sir.

Technically the Dolphin mark isn't at 5000, but around 5040 atm, or exactly 10,000,000 VESTS, because VEST is the actual token that Steem becomes when powered up. The threshold in STEEM rises though because of inflation which makes it so that by time, you will get less VESTS with your STEEM.

Anyway, congrats on the 5000 - I just became a dolphin, too! Feels great :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34