steemit community probably not for me

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Still just a few weeks old here, I'm done testing the waters now.

My own experience and this post gave me a decent idea of how things work around here

https://steemit.com/steemit/@diego24/are-the-whales-turning-steemit-into-world-s-first-cryptocommunist-regime-scaring-away-investors

I'd recommend every new user to read this before contributing

And thanks to @diego24 for his insights

Goodbye

Best Wishes,
Joseph

Sort:  

The whales have influence in Steemit and over Steem, yes. But their influence is certainly not everything. People with an internet connection anywhere in the world can publish for nothing without the threat of censorship and can earn, what to them, may be a fortune. Do you understand the value of the technology we are testing in comparison to everything else out there at the moment? Do you understand that Steem can become an entire global economy founded upon values that are good for everyone and will persist? Imagine what we will be able to accomplish! Hopefully your children's children will understand the value of Steem :) I hope you stay some more. Many of the whales are doing their best and over time there will be more of them and more dolphins with their influence more widely disbursed....like butter over a great big piece of toast :)

I sure do hope that.
"over time there will be more of them and more dolphins with their influence more widely disbursed"
Only time will tell, I'll stick around even if reluctantly

Anyways I want to clarify that I absolutely do not blame them for the decisions they make. Afterall, they invested in this platform, I'm here for free, so its completely upto them what sort of content they want to push.

Try to remember that they are people or teams of people and people aren't perfect at the best of times. Also, they are dealing with something new that continues to change and adapt. One minute they are doing one thing, the next they are trying something else. They are arguing among themselves and occasionally behaving recklessly or inconsistently. They want to do what's right for them and their friends and they want to do what's right for the platform. It was inevitable that people given such massive power without necessarily having the experience or understanding or tools to use it were going to have teething problems. I doubt several of the present whales will be here in a couple of years. But others will. They will be tempered and come out stronger and there will be new whales that take up the challenge. In the future, most whales will probably be foundations or businesses that are founded upon reputation and their adherence to the principals of the Steem economy and it's evolving culture.

Whatever the difficulties with Steem, what we are trying to build is lightyears beyond the horrific psychopathic-debt slave-war machine- charnel house of catastrophe we have presently. It's Steem, something like it or it's game over.

Well articulated. Agree with most of what you said.
Are you one of those "whales" or a "dolphin" ;-) ?
.
I have to ask you something. What is the projected number of steemit users by the end of this year, any estimates?

I'm honestly not sure if i'm a whale or a dolphin. As you can see by my stats, i'm a far cry from the titans :) I also don't run any bots, struggle for time and just try to read and help out where I can. I've been following the Dan's projects for years....since Invictus Innovations. I don't have much money but what I did have, I have put into his projects because I believe in his vision, technical competency and sincerity. I want our children to live in a more wholesome world.

I have no idea what the growth projections are currently. I would suggest in beta they don't really matter. Don't get me wrong, awareness is important, and first adopters that get it are very important. I'll be very interested in the growth projections of the first three years after we have launched properly. I think they will blow everyone away :)

Thanks. these comments sure inspire me to stay. It does feel like a wonderful privilege to be using a platform that is still in its infancy and quite clearly has incredible potential . being patient helps

Replied here due to the nesting limit! It's my pleasure. I read your post and the post you linked to and I didn't want you to leave, especially not for those reasons. So many here or who've been here and gone just need a bit of history, or a bit of help, or a bit of engagement, or a bit of context in order to start to feel comfortable. The trouble is, everyone is trying to do everything whilst holding down jobs and family life and everything else :) How many here have ever been a blogger before? I know I haven't. How many are trying to use a decentralised blogging platform like they would a traditional centralised social media platform? It's actually very challenging, time-consuming and many of our expectations are misaligned. It understandably makes for an incredibly difficult mix. But we're getting there. Every single Steemian is important and valueable and dare I say it, valued, though sometimes they don't feel it. This is a challenging environment in which to thrive, especially if not carrying the optimal perspective. The fact is, Steemit will continue to grow, perhaps slowly at first, but it will be growing with people who can survive one way or the other until everything else starts falling into place. But there's nothing to stop us as a community from helping whoever we can, as much as we can, to get the most out of the start of this journey.

A little suggestion to the "whales" here who are steering this thing :

Most people wouldn't mind getting $0.00 over content if there is good engagement, and interesting content to see. It keeps them hooked, that's how communities grow. They understand it's not practical to have the idea that "i'm gonna just make $100 every day if i post good shit" . They come here for the quality content (which apparently steemit "prides" itself for) , only then will people share stuff and only then will they tell their friends about this.

The numbers indicate the same ; almost 85% of the created accounts are either "dust" or "newbie", meaning the retention rate of this platform is miserable, 85% of people are leaving because they are not finding upvoted stuff here to be interesting/ educational/ informative/funny and not because they're disappointed about not making $$ early on.

Also, all I care about is absorbing valuable information, doesn't matter if it's original or shared from somewhere else. Hell, take my upvote for showing me something I needed to see that I never saw before, I simply don't care if you created it or stole it. It's all about the QUALITY , not originality.

All that being said, I'm still interested to see how this platform grows over time, my best wishes for its success. This has been a brilliantly innovative and unique concept implemented well that I wouldn't want to see turn into a massive disappointment.

If that were the case it would be very ironic considering most people seem to be libertarian.

You should stay because the platform will certainly change. If you're not here then you can't influence that.

People who get in early are going to benefit the most in cryptocurrencies, just look at the so-called Bitcoin millionaires. But I recently released that we are still in the early days! Just not the golden first few days. For example, the first Bitcoin faucet gave out 5 BTC! That's over $5k today!

Because Steem Power is vested Steem, those with the most steem vested in the platform have the most power. That was laid out from day one in the whitepaper.

If you stick around what I expect to see is more sub communities being built which would be a big things for new people.

I will also agree with @benjojo, that's my current understanding too

over time there will be more of them and more dolphins with their influence more widely disbursed

i am about 2 weeks on this platform and i can pretty much say that i dont know a lot about what is really happening!

Now i dont know what you are interested for ( cause you said people dont find interesting stuff here) but i found a lot and in different subjects but its not that eazy i seach and scroll a lot to find people that i ''like''

This thing happens everywhere, lets say you wanna see a comedy, you just click on the comedy section but then how you decide?
you have to read the description, read the actors that take part in, check the picture or even go and search for reviews and comments. That is how its done here too, nothing different ( you can even follow someone and learn about everything that posts)
i quite agree with @benjojo and @personz and at the end just make posts for fun or to share something that you want to or happend to you( like a diary) without caring if you earn money or not ( at least that is my logic and what i do) and who knows what will arise next!

You're right maybe its me. I've been spending too much time on the internet lately and repeatedly coming across the same material. Especially for politics, current developments, (for obvious reasons). Granted the articles may be original but the ideas dont appear fresh to me. I'm like "I've seen this before somewhere " so i skim through and move on. Sort of applies to posts in life, philosophy and culture too, i spent too much time reading and reading. and there's this occasional science/technology/psychology post that interests me for about 5 mins then i have to move on because there isn't much engagement, i.e , "fascinating" discussion going on in the comments lol. maybe I should take a break from the internet for a month and things will appear fresh to me again :)

its up to you, if you watch tv and at the same time check youtube, internetnews facebook and other social media then there are high chances you hear the same and same with different words ( although you find something different somewhere)
but in general if you think about it regarding common things we get to here the same but adapted in different situations for example racism , we all know what it is ( maybe not all :P ) but les say you and me knows and have the common belief of not labell etc etc. whenever you see a post anywhere concerning this matter 100% chance mostly every will say either ''dont be racist because we shouldnt labell, they are humans too etc etc'' or ''they are not humans, we are better than them'' the same old stuff that people saying 1000 years ago :P
i hope you got my point :P i believe you did

something i try to do is open dialog as much as i have free time in the comments section about others people points of view for things i dont know that well or deep, for example psycology/sciecne/tech continue to grow so if you knew about what you read in general try to ask questions to go deeper, or search it on your own if you have time ofc to learn more
i am not saying what you must do, just sharing what i am doing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25