Weku: An interesting competitor to Steemit, based on the Steemit framework.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

As far as I can tell there are currently FOUR blogging sites that allow you to earn cryptocurrency.

Steemit

- Our best boy.

https://steemit.com/

Trybe

- Based on EOS. Slower than molasses, but has potential.

https://trybe.one/

Scorum

- Based on Steemit, with a different look to it. All about sports.

https://scorum.com/en-us

Weku

- Based on Steemit. Very similar to Steemit. It even tries to autofill in the tags, as if I was on Steemit.

https://deals.weku.io/


Source: Pixabay.com

I hadn't heard about Weku until today. @papa-pepper made a post about it. Apparently some of the bigger names on Steemit are having trouble securing their names there. Someone is grabbing them first. I was able to run over there and grab mine, and I suggest you do the same thing.

First of all let me state that I love Steemit, and I am never leaving. There are so many good things going on with this platform that it isn't even funny. I truly believe we are going to Skyrocket by the time March comes, and when March comes we're going to do a complete moonshot.

Having said that, I think competition is a good thing and we should at least look at what's going on around us.

Now in terms of competition to Steemit, I haven't really liked a lot of the competitors.

Trybe is very slow. They review your articles. It takes forever to get an article out. No one seems to read your articles. Everything about it is so based towards cryptocurrency that it seems that no one wants to read about anything else on there at all.

Scorum is very sports based. I like sports, but I'm not one of those stats guys that is constantly running the numbers and knows the name of every player on every team. I feel like you need to be one of those guys to make progress on that site. I did post a sports related story and it did not do very well.

Weku is a standard blogging site just like Steemit. It uses the same tags. It's essentially a clone of Steemit, although according to their white paper they do have a few different things going on.

http://www.weku.io/weku_whitepaper_en.pdf

WeKu blockchain is based on STEEMIT framework and Graphene framework
which was created by the original Bitcoin team members. In order to create a
growing and creative content and social SAAS platforms, WeKu will innovate
in the following areas:

It then lists a few areas where they're trying to innovate.

The interesting thing is that they aren't specializing. They are essentially, for now, another Steemit.

That makes them a direct competitor. However, for me as a writer that is much more interesting then something that is all about sports, or cryptocurrency , or one very specific thing that I don't usually focus my attention on.

I don't normally do this, but if you feel like signing up you can use my referral link.

https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=jeezzle

If you don't want to give me a referral, you could probably just put the first part of the URL in and make it work.

I think Steemit will be around for a long time, and that we are really on the way up.

However, it doesn't hurt to keep your eyes open. I recommend, if you like your username, to go ahead and register it on all of the above platforms. It could get grabbed by somebody else.

Don't get me started on Minds and sites like that.

Sort:  

Ididit !... I mean weku through your link. Heaven forbid my name get stolen. LOL !

Sweet. It's really interesting to see another platform that is so similar to this one.

However..... my code has not come to my phone yet. I waited, but was not sure how long to wait, then I clicked it to resend. Now it has been a while and I don't have it yet.

That's weird. It did not ask me to do anything with my phone.

Codes usually get sent in less than a minute though if they're going to work.

Well... just like steemit, it asked for my email and sent me a confirmation and when I confirmed, a thingy popped up and said it needed to send an SMS to my phone (just like steemit did last week when i signed up) and there would be a code I would need to enter. I just hit resend again. Steemit sms came over very fast.

I would try to resend it again. I just saw a notice on their site saying that they just now implemented SMS verification.

Well.... they evidently don't have that SMS thing worked out too well yet. I have given my number multiple times over the last couple of hours (and yes I check to see if I put it in right too ha ha)..... but no.... no code to join with yet. Maybe they will send it tomorrow when they feel better. :)

it asked me for my phone too - i needed to confirm my code

i just used your referral hahahaha
its CRAZY
ITS EXACTLY like steemit???? so super weird. I'm not going anywhere either - but i love my dreemsteem name ;)
so i took it! hehehehe

Awesome. It really is very much like Steemit. Apparently the idea is that it will have built-in audio and video capabilities so they won't need external applications like Dtube.

Quite a few famous Steemians are already there.

Ah I have been searching for STEEMian perspective and info on this. I think it was @detlev that introduced me to the platform and I have yet to post after I registered an account.

Also, I followed you after discovering you are on the same list of Steemians @nathanmars has endorsed and supported. It will be good to see more content from a writer as I aspire to improve in that regard.

Well met!

I posted and got an immediate upvote from @wekuteam, so I would check it out.

I just noticed that @nathanmars delegated 777 SP to me. Very awesome of him! Is there a list of delegated folks that we can check out?

Oh yah! https://steemit.com/dlive/@nathanmars/4bf75831-b5a4-11e8-bdac-0242ac110003

Some very good Steemians in the list worth supporting too.

Let me go sign up too, competition is good sometimes... Hahahaha! I hope it works as good as steemit (just as it looks like it).

Doesn't it though?

Oh yeah, it does!

Woah! I just got signed up on weku and I must say I'm shocked! How could it be that steemit has such an identical twin? I'll check on it from time to time, but I'm still #teamsteemit. Thanks for letting us know.

I know right? It's like an identical twin. With all these new sites coming out, it's hard to keep track. I don't think anything's going to be able to compare to us for a long time now.... and even if they did they won't have all the sweet different dAPPS and things that we have. Still, competition good in my view.

i didnt knew these alternate sites with references like scorum all about sports and its intresting thing ... steemit is the best toy haha

Yes it's my favorite.

Yeah i also heard about this sir @jeezzle.

Congratulations @jeezzle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76