You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is your YouTube Number? Does Steemit Tend to Attract Low YT Number Users?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Thanks, @ceattlestretch.

I've noticed that recency bias too, as I've spent a good few hours on TY, myself. And since my interests appear to change with the seasons, my YT number likely varies quite a bit throughout the year (as my interests probably align more closely with mainstream interests from time to time), so it would probably be a more accurate and useful number if we were to collect the averages over the course of at least a few months, if not a whole year or more.

Now that I think about it, the videos we "thumb up" should weigh heavier in determining how mainstream our viewing habits are, but I suppose the YT recommended feed algorithm heavily factors that in already. Thinking a bit more on it, I'm not exactly sure what the algorithm takes into account or how it weights those variables. My guess is that thumbed up videos ranks the highest, followed by the videos that we save into playlists, but I'm not even sure that's the case.

Sort:  

I actually do almost all of my yt watching on an Xbox app that I don’t even sign into so never thumb up or subscribe or anything & still get a very personalized feed. It does seem to reset quickly to mainstream stuff if I don’t regularly interact with it. Not surprised to see you also spend time thinking about your algorithms. I try to maintain topical control & prefer to search for things as opposed to letting the algorithm tell me what to watch, but it is very interesting to observe the personalized recommendations

I try to maintain topical control & prefer to search for things as opposed to letting the algorithm tell me what to watch, but it is very interesting to observe the personalized recommendations

I do the same thing and I agree on that last point (but I guess that's already pretty obvious :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14