When intelligent people result to profanity, labelling, name calling, and raw language...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It makes me bury my head in my hands. What do YOU think, and, how do YOU react?

profanities-curse-words-are-stupid.jpg

It drives me nuts. I hear this from intelligent people when a conversation starts to get emotionally charged. The greater the importance of the discussion, the more this raw language starts to appear.

We seem like uneducated beasts when we speak with profanity, and to a listener, it can be quite bothersome.

Swearing incessantly gives the illusion that you're out of control and don't have the time, nor intelligence, to formulate and convey a cohesive thought.

tldr; -- It makes the speaker look bad.

Now when I say something like that... the response is usually F - YOU @intelliguy. Which is ironic. lol.

Today, I stopped in the middle of an intelligent debate when swearing and profanities started to become part of the discussion.

I simply said:

"I'm hopping out of this discussion. Things are really broken in general. I lost my light at the end of the tunnel."

(I then walked away)

I just hate it when the topic of discussion gets clouded by who can swear and curse the loudest. It's just dumb, and I have no time in my life for that..

I use profanities rarely, but I will still use them. I'm not innocent, sometimes I even use it when telling a story about a frustrating moment, etc. I think it has its place and time. Usually in comedy it works best. There are very rare (but real occasions) where curse words and profanity has its place.

Most of the time, it's over used, at the pain and peril of the public in general.

you-questions.jpg

What about you?

How do you react when people start up with ugly language. Do you just walk away?

  • What if it's someone like a friend, colleague, or person you care about?
  • Do you show your displeasure or watch them degrade themselves?
Sort:  

I'll admit I have a mouth like a truck driver, but you rarely see it in my writing. There are occasions when an F-bomb is needed to emphasize, but cursing shouldn't be overwhelming a conversation or statement.

Very nicely stated, and very candid of you to admit. I look forward to reading your stuff!

F...ng hell what bloody f...ing great post 🐟

You definitely get an upvote... for being funny and courteous at the same time by blocking out the letters. :)

My runaway mom dropped us off and gramma's house and reappeared when I was eight. I remember one day she cornered me and was screaming another language at me. I was grateful my gram never taught me that blankety-blank language.
giphy (5).gif

What is really frustrating about swearing is that most people only know one or two words and that's all they use.
There is no creativity, no inventiveness, no style at all. Just f- this f-that.

That's just too easy.
When I was a much younger man i worked pouring concrete and my boss could swear for fifteen minutes without repeating a single phrase - or using the f- word.

So if you want to swear by all means go ahead, but do it with some style, some entertainment value. otherwise you are just a kid who has learned a new word and are beating it to death.

Stopped by to check out your post :P

Thanks. Just to be clear, you weren't the one that spawned it, so I don't want you to think that... I had a run in with someone recently that basically took a lot of money from a friend of mine, and while we were trying to work out the reason why it happened, they started with the F-this, and f-that, and ucking, this...

Which totally destroyed the whole communication we were trying to get started to nicely talk about the problem.

Look forward to reading your stuff, I am following you thegrinder... sometimes I'm on here a lot. Sometimes not so much. But we'll see each other in passing. Thanks for stopping by...

It didn't even cross my mind until you mentioned it! :))

Please don't use that $----- 4----- language ------3?, That was a funny reply of mine to some m nay years ago. I very rarely swear myself but do notice it in others too as how could I not, right?

I have never liked it. But now I strongly dislike it. The energy of such actually can hurt my head and make my ears ring because it can throw off my brain. So now I ask / tell people to stop, walk away, or request others to please get it to stop.

I like the fact that you openly admitted that excessive swearing and curse words to make a point actually bothers you.

Most of us, tolerate it. But no one wants to confront the speaker about it, which gives the illusion that it is acceptable to talk in public that way.

To me, I'm more interested in what your point is, than your chosen vocabulary and raw language is that you want to convey it.

If you have a good point, let me hear it. Don't cloud it with swear words, because the more you do that, the less I listen.

To be blunt. We all let a curse or swear word loose once in awhile while we're animated and talking about something excitedly. That is fine..

It's the raw mouth that does it non-stop "just because you can", and it is easier than coming up with intelligent vocabulary that bothers me the most..

We do let such loose once in a while. But this is only if we hear it beforehand. This may not be fine. If we never heard it in the first place then we wouldn't do it. Perhaps the ones who do sometimes hear it too much from others.
Have to agree that the raw mouth is the worst. Makes people seem very ignorant and sometimes disrespectful too.

Has always bothered me. Part of them problem is if you say something they just swear more. This shows that something isn't right. Yes just say what you want to say. There doesn't seem to be a logical reason for such overdone swearing.

I'm glad you at least acknowledged it's place in things like comedy and I'd add fiction and entertainment in general. I've had people attempt to belittle me for using profanity.

People often associate profanity with a lack of intelligence and self control. That's all superficial nonsense. I also think it takes years of brainwash to be able to convince people that the annoying BLEEP sound is pleasant on the ears compared to the sound the word 'fuck' makes.

It seems only those who need to find a reason to look better than others resort to looking down on people for using profanity.

Here's something you will never hear:

What is this trash? This can't be here! Take this down! There aren't any swears! You can't do that!

There's a reason for that, but it's not my job to go around explaining this stuff. People should eventually learn on their own.

I did say "Swearing incessantly" --- non-stop... and especially during a legitimate debate was what spawned it. In this particular case, someone had absconded with $15,000 USD of someone's money. When the public debate ensued, the person resulted to non-stop curse words, which halted the legitimate discussion. It was at that time, I realized that they were hiding behind curse words, rather than explain their position. In my frustration I wrote this post... which does hold merit in certain cases.

I suppose without context in mind, it could be read 2 ways.

What's interesting, is 4 days after I wrote this post, another post appeared with low quality, trashy content. I articulated why that it wasn't suitable for steemit, and the response was simply "your a fag". Again... that kind of behavior, without being to articulate an intelligible response made the speaker look bad...

Yes. I know what you said.

here is a GIF, i hope its relevant enough for you ;)

I don't see it as a problem. Kinda like Grammer Nazis, who call people stupid 4 not spelling out their texts. I think it's an excuse to talk down on others it's something our parents said to keep us from cursing and people for whatever reason take it to heart. It's a word. Dog, cat fuck, now why is fuck the only bad word? Just a word.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79