You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Steem succeed or commit suicide?

in #steemit7 years ago

There are a lot of wrongheaded ideas

I disagree. @emble has the right idea... even if it is possible to shoot through some of this and make it swiss cheese.

A more complex system to get content reviewed and published is exactly what steemit needs.

I know we're still in BETA, and I know it's been a little over a year...

...but what @emble described... a variation of it... is what we may need and see in the future.

I thank him for his proposal. It's a good starting point to get us looking at what types of solutions could exist.

Sort:  

Or, conversely, if we could remove a mountain of crap posts, that would be great.

What about filters for the following:

"Under two sentence post"
"Picture post only"

etc. If I could get all that crap out of /created, I'd feel less like I'm wasting my life everyday trying to curate that garbage.

I would strongly support better filtering.

I'd also strongly support being able to filter out posts that have been upvoted by bots.

I would upvote none of them.

That's an interesting idea! I hadn't thought of the bots option.

The problem is you'd have to restrict it to users who used the bot themselves, because otherwise you could censor anyone by throwing them a randowhale vote. Then, you'd have problems regulating this, because people would just use another account to trigger the bot...you'd end up having to manually weed these out.

I think the technical limitations here might be a problem. Perhaps all bots need to be disabled unless whitelisted by community consensus (cheetah, steem cleaners).

I'd very strongly support disabling bots that curate. Unless folks consider AI to be equal to people in rights, then I don't want bots voting. If folks do consider AI to be equal to people, Imma quite voting altogether.

There are other bots that do good stuff, such as bots that ferret out good content and suggest it to people. While this treads close to the edge, I wouldn't mind a bot that provided a list of posts that contained no recipes for baked goods, make up tips, or pics of Kardashians.

The real issue for me is curation. I remain unaware of any bots writing posts, yet, so am not exercised about that.

Why not limit the posts/week by rep?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15