My content have become worse and its time to do something about it.

in #steemit5 years ago

I have been on a full on sprint regarding posting and engaging on Steemit for the last couple of months. I have always been a bit "preached" for being a good writer and making posts people actually enjoy reading. But this has slowly gone down the drain the last few weeks and it is time to make a change.


My content started to be worse


I think after a while here on Steemit it takes certain discipline and commitment to stay up on your game. But with posting almost every day I started noticing my content slowly degrading. I got more careless with what I wrote, it was more like a habit and just a way of gaining a little extra steem here on there.

This mindset of just "writing" because I can earn some steem is a bit below me honestly, I want to feel the content I created was worth if of those choosing to support me. I firmly believe if you want to progress on this platform your content needs to be top notch and nothing below that. While many say it doesn't matter what you write and it all comes from the connection you are having it is important to also understand how you are getting those connections in the first place: By being engaged and ALSO write content people actually would like to read.
44573197_1940649302905189_9203355702549020672_n.jpg


Writing is a big passion of mine - but not always easy


Just like I took the step of taking distance from using bid-bots to promote my posts, I am also now taking a step away from just writing posts just for the sake of writing them.

I always get excited when I come up with a great idea for a new article. The problem is, those great ideas don't happen every day. Instead, 80% of my posts are probably what I would call "garbage" - at least for my standards. While they might be better than most other content we have going on on Steemit right now, it is certainly not the best I can do.

So I am going to put this on the blockchain now as a commitment to myself and the steem blockchain
IMG_0611.JPG


I will only write content if I believe it is worth reading


I want those who are actually coming to my blog to know the stuff I write is made from my passion and not from my greed and I want everyone to know that from now on this is going to be the case. Too many rumors are going around that quantity>quality is the case here on the steem blockchain and it is time to prove otherwise.

So there you have it guys, from now on, I will produce fewer posts BUT posts that will actually be worth your time.

To support this idea I am also going to create a website for myself so I can start expanding my blogging elsewhere. I want to start a tour-cycling community and hopefully, this website will be the place for that. It is my hope I can hook it up with the steem blockchain in the future.

-holm

Sort:  

Wow man, that was so open and self-critical. It takes some balls to write something like this I guess. I must agree with you in most points here and I don´t even want to think what most of my posts are if you consider yours garbage :D :( However, the question is - is it really possible for us, who decided to go fulltime Steeming (and thus have no or little time for other jobs/activities) to make it without posting on daily (or almost daily) basis?

I think, it will be harder but could also maybe prove in the long run to be more beneficial economically.
But I believe that's also why I am looking into starting up other projects not only here on Steemit but also an independent website so it is not only my blogging here on Steemit that will be my "direct income" anymore.
Of course, it will take time to build this, but it will be more meaningful for me!

I feel like it is not sustainable for me just to write for earning the steem, I need more than that!
So I have to go a bit further to achieve this!

Understand. Looks like we will just swap careers :) I was writing (my ass off) for different websites and companies before and now I have only Steemit while you want to do the opposite. Good luck with everything you decide to go for my friend. You deserve a job that will give you both satisfaction and reasonable income.

Ahh I am for sure not gonna write for companies, I am in fact gonna start my OWN website for tour cyclists! Hopefully, connect it with Steem in the future!

Ah, ok then. Sounds awesome! :)

Well, I don't even want to know what you guys think of my quality.....You both may remember my work 8 months ago, and then compare it to today. I don't think what I do now sucks, but I had to adjust to time spent vs earnings and make the most of it. You Holm, you are on another level. Hats off to you brother!

I think that I know exactly what you are talking about. Sometimes I write a post and feel like I could have done better, or perhaps it wasn't a subject that my audience would be interested in.

I kind of fell into writing about places that I've visited because I have an archive of so many photos from my travels; but the truth is, I feel like I haven't really found my niche.

I think that being critical of yourself is a good sign though. It is the thing that drives us to always improve.

Yes and it feels like to me I went a bit the other direction, instead of improving I started slacking off!

By the way, your best post is still "the hardest forks". haha!

That was probably the best post anyone ever made. It was incredible.

believe me, it was amazing.

I’ve always known your blog for quality, yes as we all know, it’s never easy to cook quality content, sometimes it may demand one not posting daily. As you said @holm;

I want those who are actually coming to my blog to know the stuff I write is made from my passion and not from my greed and I want everyone to know that from now on this is going to be the case.

Thanks for that promise. We’re always here for you.

Thanks a lot for the kind words man! I will keep the promise as best as I can, that's for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @holm!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.351 which ranks you at #2397 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2396).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 244 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dunno, I feel pretty good about ur content and been following u just for a month (which u refer to as bad content times).

Well I do from time to time make some. good content but there are moments where it's been a bit senseless, those moments are the once I wanna cut out!

But I appreciate your feedback though!

Posted using Partiko Android

There's more to life than pressuring yourself to write more. Im in the same boat.. 'you must write everyday'.., Im trying to fix that but have a peronal goal to attain before SF3.

The gas is going to come off after that. Take a break and do some cycling.

Yeah well said! Sometimes we do have goals and are pushing ourselves to achieve them! I hope you obtain your goal for The steemfest and still maintain your sanity! ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Will be keeping an eye on updates from you! Keep on cycling!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I guess it all comes down to engagement/comments, at least in my case. I love sharing my adventures, they take a ton of time to edit pictures, read old travel diaries and etc. Then it used to get loads of comments, but suddenly nowdays it gets 2 or 3.

Slowly I started to think 'why should I spend so much time if no one reads it? Am I being selfish thinking that my adventures are interesting? Or people simply disappeared? Are they tired of my style or tired of reading long texts? Should I migrate to video format?

It's so much going on... but yeah, I agree with you that quantity < quality. We just gotta keep on working passionately, with the same motivation that brought us here in the first place.

Maybe a good move?? It should also be enjoyable for yourself as well as having the standards that you would want in there. Damn those cycling pics look goooooood again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88