You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I’m About Ready To Quit Steemit: The Disillusionment Slingshot Onwards To Greener Pastures...

in #steemit8 years ago

I've lost my enthusiasm for the site too but don't consider your reasoning very sound -- despite the fact that I agree with your appraisal of the person in question.

I'm just bored with it.

It's really weird but just paying people is not enough to differentiate the site from its competitors and make you want to use it. They need something more than just a plain white medium-clone with 2005-era posting tech.

The power imbalance between the whales and the rest of us is also more disconcerting than I originally thought it would be.

Best wishes.

Sort:  

They need something more than just a plain white medium-clone with 2005-era posting tech.

Good point.

I am glad to see @georgedonnelly saw this post. @rok-sivante glad to see you survived the "Shemitah". Oh wait everyone survived it. Oh wait again... it was total BS and most clear thinking people could have seen that! https://steemit.com/conspiracy/@bitcoinmeister/debunking-shemitah-silliness-and-the-irony-behind-so-called-free-speech-conspiracy-sites-censoring-critics

B-E-T-A
I can understand getting bored. But it seems like folks expect too much of a beta product. Anyone remember what fb looked like the first year? How much did anyone get paid for posting on it? #justsayin'...

Yup. Great point that I bring up ALL THE TIME lol :)
I think what people are starting to realize is that the money is the only thing attractive about the platform. It is enough to attract people now, when it's the only game in town, but as competitors come onto the scene, we're gonna see a serious exodus. Fortunately, Ned has mentioned that there are a lot of new social features coming soon so we can cross our fingers and see what those are.

Totally irrelevant, I'am afraid. This is 2016. The market has moved on. Expectations have changed. The costs of producing quality have decreased.

This makes about as much sense as saying Steemit is better than the clay tablets the Code of Hammurabi were chiseled into. Yeah, sure, but it's not competing for my attention against clay tablets.

Not that I spend loads of time on any social media, for that matter. Social media exhausts me. I'm searching for deep work that is meaningful to me and pays enough to cover my lentil bill.

-- George (damnit, I was certain I'd logged into my personal account.)

Not irrelevant at all. Your reply indicates that perhaps the point of the comment was missed? @piedpiper obviously got it.

You: Expect less. See, here, Facebook 2004/5.
Me: This is 2016, brah. Apples and oranges.
You: You've misunderstood my point but I'm not actually going to attempt to clarify it.
Me: :rolleyes: It's up to the communicator to make his point, not throw a couple words and a screenshot down and blame the listener for failing to exercise ESP.

Sigh.... The problem isn't misunderstanding, it's being rude about it. But maybe it helps that Gabe and I are connected telepathically. Of course, you upvoted his comment... lol.

Quick everyone buy Golos....to the next crypto shit-coin we go!!...I've not made a single crypto-profit since Mazacoin...and baby wipes were eventually needed there too to clean up the mess! LOL!

have you stopped doing steemsmart?

We took a break but but will get back into it with a new format soon. Easy to burn out when you're trying to put out an episode per day while juggling everyone's jobs, business schedules, etc. Gotta just take it down a notch and keep it fun, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65910.66
ETH 2696.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88