My Five Minute Life #5 - Back to School? This Teacher is SO Thankful She Found Steemit! I Made Over $300 on Vacation !!!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

After two weeks of glorious vacation from my job as a middle school teacher at a public school in the United States, I am headed back to work tomorrow. This vacation has been a bit different from any other vacations in my past 29 years of teaching. Why, you ask? What is the big change?

The answer is STEEMIT!! I made over $300 on this platform during my Winter Break! Amazing!

U5dtByS8vJnHSij89KwBd2arY9g1nq9_1680x8400.jpg

Image Source

The funny part is, I usually have to give up most of my vacation working a second job just to bring in a few hundred dollars over the holiday. Christmas gets expensive, especially as a single mom. Most winter breaks, I head over to a nearby Italian restaurant and pick up a few shifts as a waitress. Sometimes, I work at a fireworks tent. I even clean houses and paint rooms for people, to generate extra money.

Sure, I know most folks think teachers get paid during their breaks, but that is not really the case. We actually pull from our own salary all year, just to pay ourselves a vacation check on break. It's tight. Salary for teachers here is survivable, but not nearly comfortable. For instance, I have been teaching 29 years and I just matched the salary of my millennial 23 year old daughter, on her first year of employment after college. True story.

Kind of like an old U2 song: Running to Stand Still

Yes. It can be quite frustrating so this holiday, I took Bono's advice and jumped on a STEEM train...

And, it paid off, not just financially, but in happiness. I have made so many wonderful connections on Steemit! I also grew my faith in social networking platforms, and hence mankind in general, because on Steemit I found a community of humans not trolls. That was a welcome change.

I also found a community of givers, people who pass around steem from the generosity of their heart, earning just to be gracious to others. I see people helping others in less fortunate situations, in countries in dire conditions. I see hope. What a blessing.

AND, I see $321.43 in my wallet!! That is unbelievable to me, especially because I would have to work a full 40 hour week at one of my side jobs to make that kind of money. I would have lost 40 hours of time, away from my family to make that money. Instead, I was able to stay home and spend that time with my daughters. I did spend quite a bit of time blogging, reading, and commenting on Steemit, but it no where compared to having to wait tables or stand at a cash register for 40 hours.

What a blessing!!!

Thank you, Steemit and thank you, Jesus!!

Blessings!
Gator
226877_1039272830045_1114_n.jpg

Follow for more Five Minute Life @gatorlynne !

Thanks to all who follow my blog. My New Years Resolution was to grow 25 followers a day while on vacation. I almost met my goal! I am up to 181 followers! Thank you!

Please RESTEEM this article to help me reach my goal. And, if you want to leave a tip to this old fogie teacher who is thankful to give up waiting tables, be sure to UPVOTE!

Sort:  

what activities were most profitable for you on steem?

Definitely writing daily blogs brought in the most sbd. Then, converting to steem and powering up! I also focused on reading & commenting. It works! Blessings

Wow, that's amazing isn't it? I'm so excited about the possibilities. I can't wait till the platform matures a little more when more people start to blog about what they really are passionate about (like you do), and not necessarily only about Crypto Currency going up and down.

Good luck with the new school term. 🌟

Thank you. I appreciate your encouragement, as always. Enjoy your week! Blessings

Hello @gatorlynne, I'm glad you found Steemit too! This place is so amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84