You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit is Neither FAIR nor EQUITABLE — and Why This Post Will Never Make it to Trending

in #steemit6 years ago

Maybe it did not reach the trending page, but I did found it on the HOT page.
Correct, people have to leave the idea that Steemit is a quick rich scheme. It you do want to make something of it hard work is required. The most important thing for me is that I will try to be genuine in posting and comments.
Steemit is far in such a way that everybody has the same change. Some people here are ahead but that because or the did invest in the system or joined way ahead of some of us.
The biggest difference according between facebook and Steemit is that on Facebook I know all my friends in real life, on Steemit I have never met anybody before. It does enrich my life my viewpoints, opinion or things I would never thought of!
Considering the bots. They have positive and negative side. Since a few days I'm trying them out. Not to get in the Trending or Hot pages but to increase my rep a little bit faster. I slowly build it up from 25 to 43, now I was trying to see how much faster it would go with upvote bots. After some thought I decided to minimize the bot use and if a use one, I will only use it after 12 or 24 hours. So that they people who genuinely did upvote my post, also get a small share of it.
Figures from @pengiunpablo shows that the usage of bots is a lot less than I had imagined. We do think that they are overly used, but that idea is probably created because all the posts on the trending and hot page (not yours).

Really liked the post, unfortunately I'm running out of voting power again. I always find it hard not to upvote when I do comment. and because I'm reading a lot posts and also want to upvote the few genuine comments on my post, I always ran out. Really need to increase my SP so that I'm able to use the slider.
But I will compensate this a little to become a follower and I will come back to upvote your post, when I do have enough SP again.

Thx for sharing your ideas! We are mainly on the same page.
Peter

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful comment @fullcoverbetting! Voting power is a little low these days due to the slumping crypto markets; I used to be a lot more active when I had a 100% upvote worth almost $2.00... but those are the breaks, I guess.

I built this account 100% "organically," with the only exceptions being upvotes I bought on warning messages concerning scams/phishing (I think I've posted about 4-5 in my time here) on which I just wanted wide distribution, quickly. Back in the earliest days of vote bots I also used randowhale sporadically, but stopped after a month or so.

In 15 months, I think I've had 10-12 posts make it to "Hot" on their own; 2 or 3 to "Trending." It's not something I set as an ambition, mind you. My personal ambitions (in part derived from 20 years of playing with groups/social media online) relate to the level of engagement any given post reaches. For example, I consider this a "successful" post for having a large number of comments, and pageviews being more than double the number of upvotes; that tells me the post succeeded in the sense that people actually read and interacted with the topic.

Steemit is really an interesting "hybrid" in the sense that it draws both "content creators" and "income opportunity seekers" and they are really very different fish with very different objectives.

My primary objective-- ABOVE ALL OTHERS -- Is that I still want to be here, doing this, five years, ten years from now. Whether I will be making 5c or $50 a post by then is really not a big factor. I just had my 12th anniversary on Facebook. Made me ponder... will I HAVE a 12th Anniversary on Steemit?

Yes, I think we're on a similar track!
~Peter (as well)

Wouldn't it be great to be able to give "a 12 year on Steemit party". This requires a lot more effort than being on Facebook.
I can only dream about being on the Hot or Trending page. While it is not an ambition of me, it still would be great.
Have some SP now, you I gave the post the much deserved upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22