You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life's Journey - The day of near disaster on Steemit. 😵 😳 😱

in #steemit7 years ago

First of all, I'm glad Chrome had your back.

I would advise you to go remove your Steemit password from Chrome's database now, and if you don't feel comfortable doing this, at least make sure 2FA is enabled for your Google account so there's no chance someone could access your Steemit password.

LastPass is a great option. I don't know if your laptop has a fingerprint scanner, but encrypting a file with your password in it that way might be something to consider. I wouldn't store your Steemit password in an unencrypted file unless the computer is not connected to the Internet.

There are many tips about the master password, and I think you've definitely learned a lesson here. There are always ways to become more secure, but financial passwords are essential to keep safe, so good luck in the future.

I enjoyed your narrative of the story. I'm sure this has happened to many of us where our parents have thrown something important away. I thought my parents had thrown away an old cell phone of mine that I still had some data on. Thankfully I found it, but I still experienced a similar sensation.

Thanks for sharing!

@originalworks

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @awakentolife to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65669.27
ETH 2668.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87