Becoming a Minnow in 2.5 months: week 1 update

in #steemit6 years ago

Last week I posted that I was actively going to work towards Minnow status on Steemit. Now it is time for the first update.

image.png

Progress

Last week I was on 458.5 SP, now I'm on 462.0 an increase of 0.76%. Below you can see that I'm more or less on the trajectory needed to reach minnow status in 2.5 months (assuming linear growth).

image.png

Besides the SP growth I also increased the amount of liquid Steem in my wallet. For now I'm going to keep it there to invest in good services on Steemit and to join initiatives that could increase my interaction on the platform. Eventually I however could use a bit of this to top up my SP.

Special thanks

Quickly after I posted my goal I got a huge sponsorship (SP delegation) from @dkid14. Thanks to that I am able to get a lot more rewards from curating, which makes my goal better reachable. Besides that I also got quite a lot of upvotes from @dkid14 (as can be seen below). Thank you so much for your support and the extra motivation this gives me to reach my goal!

image.png

Sort:  

Great to see others tracking their progress and setting goals to grow on Steemit. Good luck reaching 500SP+ @erikklok !

So you earned at least 3.5 Steem in one week. That sounds quite nice for me. As I think I'm at an average of about 1 Steem per week.
That is of course excluding my bid bot profit.

Btw if you want to earn extra money I have a brilliant idea for Dutch people. You could become a mailman. As it seems we have a shortage of those currently. That provides exercise and income at the same time 😬

It's not bad at all indeed. I do have some regular SBI and Stax upvotes off course, so that helps to get a reasonable payout on every post.

Haha, I don't think mailman is my dream job. Besides that, I think I earn more with my current job.

I think it would be fun to deliver mail for like 1 month. Just to get out of the office and move quite a lot more than I do now.

I'd prefer one day a week, just to do something else than the other days.

I’m excited for you to hit 500 SP soon. Good work.

Me too. Great what a bit of support can do!

Hi @erikklok!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.161 which ranks you at #45859 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 55 places in the last three days (old rank 45914).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 450 contributions, your post is ranked at #359.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

heck yeah man! good for you, fighting the hard fight. the hardest part of steem is finding the good active users that you can INTERACT with, and that like your content and will still upvote through their following. the best part is you know how to write a nice appealing article also. ill be following your progress for sure, and i look foreword to the updates. Steem takes time to gain those votes and followers as you already know, and you're putting in the hard work for it.

How would you say is your own Steem journey going so far?

I do agree that it would be very nice to connect to other Steemonians that reply and interact and also have a little bit of SP to reward good posts or conversations. But so far I find it quite difficult to find and make these connections.

And even when I look at some of the top engagers that spend 40+ hours per week on Steemit with commenting, I notice those have more or less the same. Since their posts most of the time only get upvote values below $1.00

im doing pretty good over here i feel. I recently got back into steemit after being on deployment with the Navy so i haven't been to active, i have been pretty busy but i spend most of my day now commenting and liking.. you're completely right. sometimes the people that have the voting weight are the ones that won't follow you back and read your stuff! its a struggle. but you're rank 55, have 778 followers and i see you have been averaging just under 1 steem per post. i think there is a void in rank 50, that being the hardest to get through. once you hit your 60s you're close to the top, once people start following you half because of your rep! hahah i would say that your efforts are paying off because you have so many followers. and once you start hitting that trending page every idk 20 posts, then you start getting the more followers then hit the trending page every 10, then 5. Steem by far is the biggest snowball effect currency on the market with everything you can do! once you put that time and effort in (like you're doing) just continue to do it and the results will pay 10 fold

Most of my followers are bots, ghosts and dead. I think in reality I have about 25 followers. The other 750 never upvote or comment my posts.

Getting a post on the hot or trending only works by paying for your upvotes via paid bid bots.

So it looks like I have to stick with my current opinion. Or do you have any new arguments that could change my mind?

have you thought about putting a little bit of fiat into steem to bring up your voting value? following because i believe in what you're doing, and im gunna keep motivating you along the way and we are gunna beat this thing together!

I am an economist and I don't believe in the economic model of Steem. Neither in other crypto currency, at least not how things work right now.
So having that said I decided to try things myself and see if I stick to my opinion once I really know how it works. And after half a year I think I know quite well how it works and still don't think this will work.

So I stick with my original plan not to invest any fiat into Steem.

You will get there Erik, no doubt about it!
You have invested in the correct programs like upvoteshares and SBI.
The more value a post has the more people are willing to upvote to get some curation!
And yes it is always nice to have a big sponsor!
I do expect that you will reach it before the first of November!
Cheers,
Peter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37