I WILL START FLAGGING @STEEMITROBOT!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Why is this shitty service used so much?






And the list goes on!


Even 5 reputation for @steemitrobot is too much. If it is not below 0 his spam replies will always be visible.

Can you explain to me why is this bot so popular? It's one of the worst outhere. For 0.10 SBD you will get a resteem to pretty much 2800 fake followers that will not really read or upvote your post or you can pay 1 SBD to get a resteem and 10 completely worthless upvotes from its associate accounts.

And did I tell you about the constant unsolicited spam from @steemitrobot on all the posts?


He paid a dollar for this! Totally worth it, right?!


Is @steemitrobot really offering this for 1 SBD? I am insulted!


This platform changed a lot since I joined, but I will not let it be flooded by crap like this any longer.

Even my small upvoting project called The Wheel of Upvotes was offering almost 100% return and it was still profitable for both sides.


See you soon.

Sort:  

Shit, I was also stupid enough to give it a try.
Never ever again!
The homepage there is promising totally different stuff.
Happy I only tried it with a small amount

Worthless upvotes can count when bounties for writing articles are looking at upvote and comment totals.

Totals also count when other services flag posts by votes and comments. I have discovered a few interesting steemit users by those lists.

Building followers for minnows is tough and it is not getting easier as steemit grows. Hopefully users are analyzing what they are buying and what bot service works and what doesn't.

The problem is that it's cheating in this case:

Worthless upvotes can count when bounties for writing articles are looking at upvote and comment totals.

Depends. I've seen bounties where they don't go into specifics. They assess the impact of the post themselves.

I've also seen bounties that just count totals and don't have any other rules. In this case you are working within the boundaries of the rules and not cheating. Hopefully the folks that run these types of bounties find a better metric, even if it's a subjective one. Best case is the folks that manage their bounties learn to make more precise rules.

Regardless, the author asked why some ppl would use a crappy service and cheating would count as an answer. It may not be the answer the author agrees with but the author didn't specify rules for the question :)

Yeah, it actually counts as an answer:

Regardless, you asked why some ppl would use a crappy service and cheating would count as an answer. It may not be the answer you agree with but you didn't specify rules for you question :)

people use bots , because of the horrible distribution of wealth here. Maybe they should take a look at that !

People use bots and it's fine if people use bots.

However, I think it's important that those bots offer some kind of return though. There are bots like that - booster, buildawhale, minnowbooster, beyondbits and many more...

This one is just a con to new steemians.

That bot keeps appearing at my post

Time to flag it.

I see my name in that list. Gasp! I have made this mistake as I am new to the platform and still learning my way around. I did notice the low reputation score 2 days ago and it felt odd since I remember that other bots had a reputation in the 50-70 range, Yesterday however, I decided to give it one more shot. For some newbies it's not really affordable to use services that ask 1-5 SBD and that is why this bot seems a good bargain at 0.1 SBD.

Anyway, thank you for pointing this out, I will stay away from it in the future. Lesson learned.

There are much better bots and services that you could use to invest your 1 SBD.

Steem on buddy! :)

Thank you Eirik. This bot has been one of the biggest comment spam offenders as of late. Especially with that huge dumb pic it includes with every comment. It seems to just randomly resteem and comment hundreds of unsolicited posts a day in hopes of finding new suckers.

The fascinating part is that it always does! With this spam on posts from new steemians it always has a new suckers.

I will try to end this. Little by little. :)

Thanks, actually I don't like using any resteem bot because most of their followers are following them just to get service... I don't mind this bot making a service like this actually.

What I do mind, is that he advertises itself in my own posts. If it was a good bot like minnowsupport bots I probably won't mind that as much.

But offering $0.29 upvotes for $1 is kind of sad ripoff....

Oh maybe that is actually what I forgot to add - it's spamming so much! Even on people's post that don't want those "resteems" at all.

The "Great Steemit Bot Debate"

Its a necessary evil for minnows. Even if a service is a "loss" the OPPORTUNITY to gain just 1 follower may end up as a "profit" down the road if that follower ends up as a whale and respects the work you do on steemit.

Unfortunately there is no way to assess the future value of followers. You just have build a good base and hope they reward you for your hard work in the future.

In sum, crappy services may have a ton of dead followers but it could have a few active ones that discovers the good work you do on steemit.

To check dead followers (not perfect but a good indication) use:

http://steemit.deadfollowers.info/

If you follow 84000 people of course you will get some back. Another problem with this bot is that it spams so much! Even on people's post that don't want to use this service.

Let me ask you something. If you pay this 1 SBD for a resteem as you say and your post is grouped to 10 more resteems from @steemitrobot, do you think it was a worthy resteem and you will find some followers by this?

Yes I think resteems are worth it and yes I believe a person can get a few followers here and there as long as they are producing good content.

The proliferation of bots fill a need. Until steemit or someone suggests a better system we all are going to have to live with it.

Perhaps new users can start at a the top quarter of the bell curve and have to keep a certain level of participation or they will drop. Deadbeat users will eventually be recognized but worthy users won't have to use bots to gain traction in the beginning.

Another option is steemit could add guilds where a person is accepted and will get votes of all other members of the guild automatically as long as they sustain whatever level the guild requires.

I don't know these are just quick ideas off the top of my head, but the bigger issue here is that steemit loses users when they find out that they have to play the bot game just to get ahead. In a way its almost a rite of passage. Those that work their way to level 60+ must be doing something right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78