IPFS Self Hosting Project for my videos, Please advise if able!!

in #steemit5 years ago

My Issue:

So when I began here on Steemit.com, my main reason was Dtube as an alternative to solely hosting my tech videos on Youtube. In addition to Steemit/Dtube, I host my videos on Youtube, Bitchute, as well as LBRY.
However, I was unaware that my videos would only last for a single week without consistent up votes to "pay" for the videos life on Steem's infrastructure.

IPFS:

It just so happens that I am a Linux user as well as server admin, and I have experimented with IPFS(Steemit's video storage system) prior to joining this community.

Since my channel is focused on tech/Linux, and some of videos are tutorials I require that they are available freely for longer than just 7 days, and as a fairly small channel I am probably unable to draw in enough Steem power to pay their stay indefinitely.

My Solution & Request For Help:

I plan to host my own IPFS instance on a Linux server inside of a VM or even possibly a Docker container within a VM.
I ask that anyone who has experience please advise me on how I can upload my videos to Steem, while also hosting them on my own IPFS node. Can I re-address the videos that are already up?

Even if you are simply aware of an article with this process described, please share this in a comment/response.
As an added benefit, I was planning to do a video tutorial about the design of IPFS, as well as how to set it up on a Linux server. Now I will add this process to that tutorial IF I can accomplish this.

Thanks in advance, and I'd really appreciate any help on this guys.

Sort:  

I have left a message for
@Graylan | gray00#8771
on Discord and he will help you when he gets back.

Hey thank you SO MUCH. I have Discord. Should I try to message him?

I sent him the link to your post and he was out of town but said he would contact you. Give him a few days and if he has not contacted you then try Discord.

Posted using Partiko Android

@ds-tech Did he get in touch?

Not that I've seen, I assumed he would reach out on here somehow?
Still really need to talk to him, especially now that so much has changed with D.tube.

Try to do him on discord

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay doing now, thank you again for the help. I'll let you know if I get a hold of him.

I'm sorry, maybe I'm dense, but I'm not very familiar with Discord, I triend to search and friend gray00#8771 to no avail.

in the Discord search box you need to type the whole
Graylan | gray00#8771
including the spaces, but his name will show up after starting to type graylan.
Let me know how that goes.

You could try DM me at
My Technology Trail#0074
if you still have problems.

Congratulations @ds-tech! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70