Steem.supply Update: Reminder Notice And Permanent Opt-Out / Opt-In For JSECoin

in #steemit6 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 7.15.07 PM.png


There is now a prominent pop-up (separated from the one ran by the JSECoin site, which still appears every hour at the bottom of the page) which reminds users about the fact that I'm experimenting with a browser mining script and shows the link for opt-out / opt-in, network-wide (meaning if you opt-out form steem.supply, you won't be sharing CPU cycles on any site that uses this script). This is shown once, when the user first visits steem.supply (meaning after you click "Close" you won't be seeing it again).

There is also a permanent area at the bottom of the page with the same message.

I did also a bit of cleanup and UI tweaks, but nothing so important for a version bump.

As always, looking forward to your criticism, suggestions and feedback.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

You still have the best solution out there and you have given the people a way to opt out.

I feel at this point anyone else that has an issue can move on to other sites, but have a feeling they will eventually be back, because as I said this is by far the best tool for payouts.

Thank you for your support!

That should take care of any problems..

Hopefully. The needle keeps moving though. With every new proof that I disclosed what was to be disclosed about that script, the criticism seems to escalate, like whatever I do, it will still not be ok.

First it was "you never warned people, you sneaky cunt", then I showed them the link to the article written 2 months ago. Then the needle moved to: "but you don't show any visual thing to other people". And then I showed them the popup served by JSEcoin and they acknowledged it. And then the needle moved more: "well' it's just not enough". But each time they said I didn't do something, I proved them I did. And they don't seem to care much about the fact that their claims are not true.

Interesting reaction from people about which I used to have a different opinion.

Well, life. Moving on.

And then the needle moved more: "well' it's just not enough"

It is about the money. It is always about it. We are here, in Steem for the money, no matter everybody is saying the opposite. Obviously we are enjoying great content, but still it is about the money. Many content is a repost from other sites, especially YouTube videos, so many times there is needed an incentive to consume it here instead of there. Again, the money.

But I think you have been acting the right way. There is that pop-up, not the JSECoin one. You were no mandated to show it, as far as I know. But you did it. You acted the right way.

But, although were are here for the money, saying it seems to be forbidden, we must be politically correct, they should think. Hipocrytes!

Well done, @dragosroua. I like the way you are monetizing the site: first with a privacy focused advertising network and now with a mining script.

Steem.supply is not a content heavy site. People with lots of followers and activity on their blog would spend more time, but it is not a site where we would spend tons of time in a daily basis. So CPU and GPU would not suffer too much neither.

Again, I am supporting you with your choice.

I agree with this. I spend about 3 to 5 minutes per visit to steem.supply. I doubt it stole much from my cpu. But if ever @dragosroua made some profit out of it, I consider it as a token he very much deserved for the amazing app he built.

steem on!

Thank you, appreciate your support!

not everyone is technical.
not everyone has read your posts from months ago. or would even understand it if they did.
they have an adblocker or a script blocker and it says
this site is trying to...yadda yadda yadd
and they panic.
can you blame them?

Nope. Like I said, it's human. But from some people I was expecting a different level of awareness, that's all.

Great Expectations.
I guess we know how that works out.

Precisely :)

Although you did disclose what you were doing, many (like myself) had no idea what that meant! Talking in technobabble doesn't mean anything to someone who doesn't speak that language. So, although you may BELIEVE that you communicated your actions, you failed to actually do so for a great many people. And now, with a pop-up, will anyone who uses a pop-up blocker even see that new message? Will they comprehend what that message actually means? I can tell you that if I had not read the other posts about your mining operation, I sure wouldn't have a clue what that pop-up is telling me. You need to use plain language and explain what this script is doing. I thought the script had something to do with the data that you would be showing me! So; now that you understand where the communication is breaking down, perhaps you can understand why so many people feel they have been duped and are angry. I hope that helps you understand the why.

Apart from the popup there is also a plain text at the bottom of the site, with the same text.

From the very post you are commenting on:

There is also a permanent area at the bottom of the page with the same message.

This is precisely for those who are not seeing the popup.

What do you think I should do more? Replace all the content of the site with a big: "this was written 2 months ago on my steemit blog and it consumes less than 10% of your CPU cycles, or 7 times less than steemviz.com"?

I understand your point of view, but do you understand how ridiculously far this went?

I'm just trying to help you understand why people are upset. You don't need to convince me of anything and you need not justify your actions. I understand you are trying to defend yourself and are emotionally attached to this issue. I have no emotional attachment and am simply being objective here.

If you are anywhere near computer literate, you KNOW that the area ABOVE THE FOLD is the prime viewing area. Putting anything at the bottom of the page is knowing that it could well be missed. I'm not going to say any more on the topic of location because I couldn't care less what you do with my offer of information. Either you are willing to listen or you are not. Simple as that. You can appreciate my concern for you or reject it and consider it as an attack (but that would be only in your own mind). It is only ridiculous to you because you are not listening and instead are too busy trying to defend yourself. STOP; take a deep breath; go do something enjoyable. Calm down and when you are settled, come back and re-read what people are trying to convey to you with a new mindset. Read with the mindset that you are studying a problem that has nothing to do with you. Read to understand what others are feeling. Then think about what you read and contemplate how to apply what you learned to your actions. You need to detach your emotions for a short while in order to not cloud your thinking. Its just natural to be emotionally attached, so you need to be aware of what is happening and fight that.

Although you did disclose what you were doing, many (like myself) had no idea what that meant!

Sorry, but I just realized that what you're saying can be translated into: "I don't understand a thing from what you're saying, so you should be punished for that". Can you tell me what technobabble you don't understand from here:

"I don't understand a thing from what you're saying, so you should be punished for that".

I never said any such thing. See! Proof that your emotions are reading stuff into text that isn't there. I never mentioned punishment anywhere. I simply offered to explain why people felt abused. I was describing the EFFECT of what has transpired and never talked about right, wrong, nor punishment. I'm trying to HELP you. If you can't see that then I guess I've just wasted my time. Sorry to have bothered you.

I love Steem.supply and use it a lot and it was my prime reason for casting my vote on you as a witness, so thank you for all that help.

But let me be the first to cast criticism: I am not a supporter of this new mining feature at all!

Websites that enable this cause me to visit them less, and think less of them. I do not like websites using my cpu or gpu power. When I got the alert on steem.supply, I immediately closed down the website.

I am thankful that you are open and transparent about using this, whereas other sites are not, but it will probably lead to me using your website less I am afraid. Nothing personal, but it is simply not my cup of tea to have this happen, on any website. I do think there may be a lot of others who feel the same. I understand the temptation to put this in, but I would ask you to really reconsider if this is the best route forward in the greater scheme of things. Again, not trying to attack, but rather trying to be open about this.

You understand that the said popup allows you to opt-out? You can click on that link and you are not using that script. Is that clear or the copy should be adjusted?

I opted out, but got the popup screen just the same when I re-opened the site

If you opted out, you're not mining. Popup showing again is probably a bug. Can't reproduce it on my setup, though.

Popup should appear only once and it's not linked directly to the script. Everything related to the script is happening on their site.

Ah, ok.. but as a visitor there is no way for me to see this. If it is possible to integrate a ticker which displays, for example, how much % of cpu power is being used for mining that would put my mind at ease to know everything is working according to plan.

I've just ruined too much hardware on mining before, can't afford to be ruining anymore.

This is something that I could pass on to the guys doing this, Im just helping them testing their thing. As for how much it consumes, I wrote a post a few hours ago, have a look at it (it's less than 10%).

Thanks, I hadn't seen that post yet

It looks like the winds of change are not blowing in your direction my friend. Maybe its time to go back to the drawing board.

Maybe its time to go back to the drawing board.

Care to detail? I don't argue with the fact that I need to change things, generally speaking (which I do, as you can see) but I'm just picking your brains :))

I wish I had some Brains to pick. But I am dipping in and out of Steemit and it just seemed to be a shit storm about using your web page to do some mining. I believe you are an honorable guy. And I was just pointing out, if their is such an opposition to your thingy. May be you should have a regroup/rethink. I agree with you that cannot please all of the Steemit all of the time. But if the object is to encourage users to come by your Web Site so you can grab some CPU (how ever little) and there is a very vocal Steemit opposition to it. So nobody ends up going. Well - "Its Logic for Ducks" time again. Something has to give.

Congratulations @dragosroua! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dragosroua! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

yup i saw that thats nice to have there

Not working your Steem.Supply It gets stuck at finding your username.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76