Finally found a tip jar for my other blog

in #steemit6 years ago

Part of the appeal of Steemit is the transparent tip jar. I post an article and someone can upvote me. I post a comment and someone can upvote me. I Resteem and article and someone can upvote that. Then there is the reverse: I upvote any post, comment or resteemed post, and I earn from that, too. There are numerous ways to earn money on Steemit and those are just scratching the surface.

But I came here from Blogger. While on Blogger, I tried many ways to earn money, but other than AdSense, which pays micro-peanuts, I have had a hard time monetizing my content on Blogger.

After a year or more of Steemit, I have been exposed to enough information on cryptocurrencies that I learned how to invest in them. I have a mixed portfolio, but I'm learning as I go. I bought at the top of two bubbles, but I'm learning not to beat myself up about that. I'll HODL, because I can. Long term, as market capital increases, and I am confident that it will, all of the currencies I hold now will increase in value with respect to the dollar.

I had looked into using PayPal for my tip jar, but the terms of service say that a tip jar that pays into PayPal must be for a non-profit organization. At least, that's the way it was when I looked last. I stopped looking when I found Steemit.

I started exploring and investing in cryptocurrency by opening an account at Coinbase. I have tried a few other exchanges, too. But Coinbase is the one that makes it easy for me to put USD into it. Bittrex, Open Ledger and a few others all do not take USD yet.

Over the last couple of months, I also noticed that some people who post on Steemit were also including their cryptocurrency addresses in their signature for additional payment support. That is, in addition to an upvote for Steem Power and Steem Based Dollars. But I still had a blog that was generating page views. I still wanted a way to be paid for that if a reader was willing to send a tip.

On Coinbase, I have small investments in Ethereum, Litecoin and Bitcoin Cash. Coinbase makes it easy to generate a new address for each of those coins. Each new address is assigned to my account on Coinbase, so anyone who happens to possess the relevant coins can also send me a tip by using the addresses provided. So I generated new addresses for each of those coins:

LTC: MCv9oorDcYzwDpbxSWBTbtp5mXrVHPg7kD
ETH: 0x4b3D8c3EE6d175bd4e8A83cF058191A252902273
BCH: qzhpv60m34uf58d4w0yqs88w35k7jzjwug9yytze4v

Then I added that text to my blog at blogger. Now I don't know what will come of it, but everyone and anyone who views an article on my blog can see the addresses available for sending a tip. All that is needed is the relevant coins in hand and a tiny smidgen of generosity.





Other articles you might enjoy by @digitalfirehose:



Plan B for Humanity

A basic guaranteed income in the context of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

A sort of political movie review: Star Wars: Rogue One

Happiness isn't getting everything you want - happiness is a skill

The opposite of love is not hate, it is apathy

Fate, impunity and altruism

Sort:  

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📈 24h📈 7d
BCHBitcoin Cash774.081$0.81%21.46%
BTCBitcoin8101.610$0.07%19.81%
ETHEthereum514.812$0.33%29.17%
LTCLitecoin135.334$5.95%18.99%
STEEMSteem2.749$5.05%52.98%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82