My Opinion On Self Voting And Stuff.

in #steemit6 years ago

I self vote.


Hopefully I don't doom myself and lose a bunch of friendly followers, but I really don't get the problem.

Lately, I have been trying to read a lot more content on here and interact a lot more too. One of the things that keeps coming up, and with much emotion is this self voting thing. I just don't really see the problem, at least as it applies to most users. I do recognize there are serious abuses by certain accounts, but for the vast majority, I'm just not seeing a problem as it pertains to self voting. There is no doubt that I support plenty of other accounts around here with my vote.

If the content is no good, then that vote won't go far. I'm sure the argument is that if the content is good then there is no need to self vote, but then where is the incentive to create?

Bid bots are another thing. I can't say I completely understand them, so I don't have much of a comment other than they seem far more shady and troublesome than an account self voting.

I self vote all the time. I'm happy to change my ways, but I don't see why. So far, I have not come across a convincing argument as to why I should not vote early on my own content that I put time and effort into on this platform.

It seems unfortunate that quite a few are so upset by this practice that they will flag or at least unfollow accounts for voting early.

I flag follow for follow on my content.


This isn't about someone like minded recommending their own content. By all means, if it is relevant, lets see it. That is what I am looking for.

My real gripe is with scam sounding follow for follows. It seems obvious they are not around for the conversation, they are just looking for hand outs.

I have flagged and may flag on other people's content, but I sure as hell will if I see it on my content. That is a pet peeve and I think it really detracts from the overall value and attractiveness of this platform.

I hesitate to flag on another's content, but I'm not sure I should. This account has stake and that stake has a motivation to tend the weeds so to speak.

These are just some thoughts. I would love to hear from you because I value your opinions and I sure hope this doesn't just set people off on an emotional hate leave.


Sort:  

You could put me in the "it's law if the software allows it" camp. That said it is my feeling that self voting should be removed (again) in a future fork. My understanding is that it is being massaged, to some degree, in the next major fork.

The reason for me, personally, to not agree with self voting is that it allows creators to take from the reward pool outside the true spirit of Proof of Brain.

There are, however, greater concerns surrounding Proof of Brain abuse in my opinion. They were outlined in an old blog post of mine; a link to which is included for your reading pleasure.

https://steemit.com/steem-network/@novacadian/where-is-the-trust-in-proof-of-brain-mining

Thank you. I will read that.

steemit platform can be more enjoyable if self voting and bots are close.Even it can help more to newbies

because big whales will be unable to sell votes and i think it can help everyone

Hmm. Ok. But do you think it is a problem when the more average user does it to promote their own content?

i don't think so

I don't self vote (intentionally, sometimes there is a self inflicted vote via curation trails) at the moment. I started off self voting (probably like everyone on Steemit), but in the end, I figured the long term investment of that vote would be better spent supporting others in the hope that it would come back. Even at this stage of development, a self vote at full power is worth 5 cents, so it really doesn't matter materially one way or another. However, if I can use it to reward comments on my posts or use it to reward other's posts, then I think the return readers and comments are worth more than the self vote.

I have no problem with with people self voting, and don't get me wrong if my vote was worth 10 or 100 euros at full power, I would surely be doing it!

I don't think it needs to be written out of the code. But I do have a much larger problem with self voting on comments.

That makes sense to me. I appreciate the input.

well self upvote to post's is good i don't think its bad because you have to believe in your own content so that it reaches the people comment is a different option but i don't upvote myself in that

That makes sense to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94