Steemit, Social Media and "Follow Mania:" How to Keep Swimming, Create Success and Save Our Community!

in #steemit7 years ago

"I Followed You! Please Follow Me Back!"
"Please follow me on twitter!"
"Please like our Facebook page"
"Join our New Social Network and build your following!"

Follow, follow, follow, follow, follow....

FOLLOW!!!!

Follow
Follow me, follow me, follow me...

It's Saturday morning, and the world is suffering from a serious case of "Follow Mania."

I blame MySpace... and later Facebook... as the initial culprits that trained a lot of people to believe that the measure of their (self) worth was how many "friends" they could accumulate.

We were taught to overlook the quality of our connections, and instead grew addicted to simply watching the size of the number next to our name. 

Really? A giant contest of DIS-connection that started to make a mockery of the word "friend."

But I digress...

Meanwhile, In Another Part of Town...

Daisy
Daisy in the sun

I'm sitting in my small art gallery here in town, writing these words. Oddly enough, they were not directly triggered by something I read on Steemit, not by our growing trend of "follow begging," but by something that just arrived in our email here.

Yet another "social platform," suggesting that "people I know" have recommended me for membership. Now, these were "real" people whom I know by name... but we've never had any actual interaction... so why would we have any, now? The typical FOMO-based appeal that preys on our fears that we aren't connected enough.

Because we need more social media, so we can follow more people! And people can follow us!

Don't we?

We Now Pause for a Reality Check!

Let's review, for a moment.

Sunset
Bright cloud in the sunset

Across Steemit-- and ALL social media-- everyone is frantically trying to "build followings." I get that-- it's part of the "Social Media Game."

But what's yourOBJECTIVE, here?

Presumably, you want people-- real people-- to actually find and read your content (or your product, or your service), and like it well enough that they give it an actual upvote and interaction of significant enough consequence that it makes you feel like your efforts are worthwhile. 

Maybe you do it purely for money; maybe for the ego boost-- maybe some of each... but it still goes to some version of YOUR bottom line, right?

This is the same metric we apply in "real life" marketing, too. 

Quick "Story Time:" In my prior business, we gradually built a "hand picked" list of clients we actually had close connections to, and who were sincerely interested in what we had to offer. When we announced new product releases, we would actually sit down and HAND WRITE personal invitation letters to those people... in addition to bulk mailings to tens of thousands of people.

Guess what? Those 300 hand written invites would generate 3-5 times the business over a single weekend, when compared to the huge bulk mailings!

It's called relationship marketing... and it still works, in this digital age.

Meanwhile, Back on Steemit

Let me tell you something... I'm "following" 428 people here on Steemit-- almost all of whom were hand chosen quite deliberately because they created content I actually read and found interesting-- and sadly I don't have a hope in hell of keeping up with all of them!

YellowFlowers
Yellow flowers in our yard

In fact, according to SteemReports.com (useful utility, if you're not familiar with it!), in the past two weeks, I have made 232 unique upvotes... so that's barely over half the people I allegedly "follow."

Which leads me to point at the complete futility and uselessness of approaching the "building a following" challenge by either (a) going around and saying "I followed you, please follow me" to the next 5000 people you encounter, OR (b) using a bot (or bribing all your 17 kids with candy) to just arbitrarily follow 50,000 people in the hope that some of them will automatically follow you back.

Don't believe me?

The Pursuit of the IMPOSSIBLE!

Recently, I've come across several new-ish (less than 60 days old) Steemians who were each following more than 50,000 people! 

WhiteFlowers
White flowers in the afternoon sun

Now, I know some of you are going to come back to me and say "Hey Denmarkguy! I just went on Steemwhales.com, and there's NOBODY following 50,000 people!"

Well, it may look that way... which should alarm you even further, because that tells you that more than 2/3 of those "followers" are actually 100% inactive accounts that have never cast a single vote, made a single comment or posted a single thing! Think about THAT, next time you consider "buying a re-steem to thousands!"

But anyway, do you really, sincerely, and honestly think that any person is going to keep up with 50,000 people? Not to mention the complete and utter mathematical impossibility of someone actually UPVOTING that many people? 

I know what my answer is.

But who cares about my opinion? The reality was that each of these "mega-following" accounts were actively posting... and earning $0.50 to $2.00 a post... in many cases much less than other active minnows who are using a more personalized and interactive approach.

How come? Because those 6000 people you've lured into auto-following you back... they don't care about your posts! All they care about is the idea that YOU are following THEM back!

What does that add up to, in a functional sense? That every one of these "follower-collectors" are just watching the numbers but not actually doing anything! Which leads to... guess what? Nothing!

"Quality Matters." Commit that to Memory!

This isn't my first rodeo, and if there's one thing I've learned from years in social media, it's that "raw numbers" are pretty meaningless.

Bee on Lavender
A bee visiting our lavender

Stated a little differently... in most cases (movie stars and big time musicians excepted) simply having a huge number of followers might do a lot to "fill" your ego, but will do very little to fill your pocketbook.

Think of it this way... I can either hand you a $100 bill (quality)... or 10,000 pennies (a pain in the butt). Which would you rather have?

"Yeah, but I'm new and I haven't done anything that people think I deserve a $100 bill for!"

Well... that may be true, but other people were "new," too, once upon a time... but now you're going to argue that you're going to choose to continue to not contribute anything worthy of receiving a $100 bill and join the ranks of the "Penny Miners" who spend their lives filling the world with DUST rather than SUBSTANCE?

Yeah, well... don't come crawling back to me five years from now, whining about how there's "nothing worthwhile" in the world. Remember... you CHOSE that world! If you put nothing of value into the world, how can you expect to get something of value back???

Some Food for Thought...

Social sites and communities are built for people, by people. You simply cannot build a community with code, automation and bots. All you end up with is a wasteland of "code talking to code."

MiniLupine
Purple miniature lupine

I suppose that's fine, if all you want is a botnet... but keep in mind that then you shouldn't expect Human Beings (aka "new members") to line up to join the party. Because they won't. Think, for a moment, of the "holodeck" on Star Trek TNG... what purpose would it serve, absent humans to interact with it?

There's a good REASON why our voting power starts running down after 10 or so votes: This place was designed to be used by people, not by automation. So stop trying to find ways to use automation to displace the humans!

So here's my unsolicited advice, if you want to keep swimming towards success in the Steemit waters: Just do your best, create engaging content, be social and engaging... and stop worrying so much about how many followers you have, and whether "enough" people are following you. The RIGHT people-- the ones who actually read your stuff, upvote it, and comment on it? They'll find you and follow you!  

Turn
Let's turn Steemit in the right direction!

And getting back to the "$100 bill vs 10,000 pennies" example? The way I see it, if you keep "mining for pennies," you might get your $100, but you'll end up ruining it for yourself and everyone else, in the process... because there will be nothing left here, just like a piece of land destroyed by a strip mining operation. On the other hand, if you just allow Steemit to "provide" as it was designed... we can all be here, having conversations, 5-10 years from now!

Last, but not least, a quick shoutout to a few inspiring Steemians who indirectly inspired this rant: to @stellabelle, whose tireless urgings to "do Steemit right" always rattle around my head; to @teamsteem who makes me feel fearless about creating "epic" length posts; to @personz who's at the forefront of the war on spam, and to @whatsup whose post Consider the Power of Your Flag yesterday gave me reason to pause and think about how we keep Steemit strong... in the long run.

Final request: If you see some sense in what I am saying here-- please consider RESTEEMING this and help it "go viral." The more eyeballs get to see that the whole "numbers game" is actually relatively lame, meaningless and most likely unprofitable, the better. This is possibly our collective future on Steemit, we're talking about, here-- let's not throw it away!

What do YOU think? Have you found yourself caught up in "Follow Mania?" Would you rather have many "followers" or fewer "true readers" who actually interact with your content? Do you think accumulating large numbers of followers actually works? When you look at your people you follow... do you actually go READ their content, on a regular basis? Or try to, at least? Last but not least, do you understand that social media is a two-way street? As in, you can't just expect people to "give" YOU something, without giving them something? Leave a comment-- share your experiences and feedback-- be part of the conversation!

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Published 20170819 12:52 PDT

Sort:  

This article deserves my last little bit of VP I have left for now. It was a long one but worth to read all the way through.
I met wonderful people on this platform!
I usually follow everybody who interacts with me or leaves comments and I don't unfollow them in case their content is not great. I simply appreciate their effort to stop by to vote or even find time to give me any kind of feedback. "Following" is my way of saying, "Thank YOU".

Thanks @mammasitta, I appreciate your kind words and support.

I guess I have grown quite fond of this community and the vast range of really interesting people I have met here-- and I would like to see that thrive and continue. But we also have to "step up" and help the community... and that's a two-fold approach: "education and illustration" (a bit like this post) and "countermeasures" in the form of initiatives like Spaminator, SmackdownKitty and others.

There's no "they" to save us... because this is a decentralized platform. WE are the "they" that must take action.

@denmarkguy - I totally agree with you and have similar feelings. Sometimes it's very hard for me to answer some comments when the commentator just wants me to follow and upvote him because he did the same! I always admire original content and efforts the author putting for providing content.

I can't be blunt with my audience. Is there any simple way to create awareness among people that you don't have to beg for upvote if your content is really good and genuine?

Yes by flagging them. When people are begging for upvotes, it's like you driving to the mall, getting out and asking someone for money?
"Why, are you okay?"
"Oh yes I'm good, I just want your money.."

That's funny, Chelsea... love that!

I'm a funny person. PS. I don't always flag people its all about context @cryptoqu33n
@denmarkguy seems to have a good approach

I have a slightly convoluted personal formula I use... I check the person's profile page ("open in a new tab") and if they are just new and lost, I have a "friendly suggestions" post I reply with.

If they are obviously mass spamming, they get a flag-- usually just 5% (for me) which takes away any rewards and most likely hides their comment. Then I add a reply with "please don't spam the identical comment on many posts!" as a comment.

A friendly suggestions post sounds great! I'm brand new and pretty well lost here.

@denmarkguy - I understand that minnows can easily lost their way in steemit, if they are not guided properly. Thanks for your suggestion. I'll surely give it a try.

Hello @denmarkguy, great post I have been pondering how we balance freedom and a usable site. I have been wondering what I have accomplished here and whether or not it means anything.
So, when I read your post I could relate on many levels, and it was also a great validation to see that my awkward post from yesterday made you think. :) I have an accomplishment that I am proud of! Thank you.

Well, thanks for the kind words-- your post really did make me pause think about what we're doing here.

It also reminds me of where I tend to "get into it" with freedom "absolutists:" I love the entire premise and ideology, but the downfall (and Steemit is, in a sense, a microcosmic representation of that) that it assumes a level of intelligence, insight and independent thought most people don't have... beyond which, all communities and societies have an element of "bottom feeders" who simply don't give a rat's rear end WHAT anyone thinks of their actions.

The analogy you may have seen me use in the past is that of us all being on a ship. OK, so we grant everyone full autonomous freedom and liberty. Including those who decide to use drills to make holes in the hull to fuel their kitchen fires. Absolute freedom dictates that they "have the right," and yet their actions result in EVERYone drowning when the ship goes down... getting back to the "levels of thinking," they just don't care because they are not trained to-- or capable of-- thinking beyond today's kitchen fire.

The assumption is that they would be "smart enough" to recognize they are causing a problem... but instead we're standing neck-high in water before one of them says... "Uhmmm....uh... I didn't think...." By then it's WAY too late....

"Presumably, you want people-- real people-- to actually find and read your content (or your product, or your service), and like it well enough that they give it an actual upvote and interaction of significant enough consequence that it makes you feel like your efforts are worthwhile. "

Yes yes and yes. That's the only reason i started my fb group Steemit Dreamit. I dont care about the "number count " of followers. I care about people following me that care about me, what I'm posting, why I'm posting, etc. Rstmd

Yeah... if you're a serious long term blogger... and you're really, really, really good (and you type fast!) you might be able to maintain active "relations" with your top 200 readers. Following thousands moves into the realm of the absurd. The 90/10 rule applies here, too... 90% of your returns come from the top 10% of your customers/readers.

Exactly, I'd inevitably miss out on content by my favorite Steemians like you!

The TNG reference really fits the bill! Follow for follow seems to come from the misunderstanding of the platform, the concept is very different from Instagram and Twitter, but many new users don't seem to realize it yet. The question is how long does it takes to understand Steemit and recalibrate? I'm sure once there is going to be a Wikihow article about it outside of Steemit, things might get better then.

I'm always happy to educate someone who hasn't "gotten it" yet... but if they persist and just ignore constructive advice, then I'm quite willing to flag them. Or tag them to steemcleaners or spaminator.

I understand that. Most likely those new users don't even know how to find replies to what they have posted, since the notification system also works in a very different way to other platforms. It is highly likely that your comments weren't even noticed. It took me some months to realize that the "comments" bar only shows comments that I myself have written :).

While reading this I had a funny idea of someone being inspired to write a handwritten note to individuals on steemit saying Dear @ soandso please follow me and I'll follow you back. Yours truly @ soand so. then taking a pic and posting it in the comments to get followers. lol I do agree with everything you say. I follow 92 people I carefully picked. I don't follow just anyone. I don't care about my followers #. I'd say only 20 out of 367 I actually hear from. I'm anti-social so I'm not going to beg for a big following. I'd rather have a small following with people who leave good comments.

Mine are hand picked, too... it's unlikely there's anyone in my follows that I didn't read several posts, or interactively had comment discussions with. As I mentioned, I prefer READERS not "followers."

The exception might be "services" like spaminator or minnowsupport, and anyone who "aggregates" quality content into reading lists.

Very well said.I totally agree with you buddy. We have to give priority to quality and no to quantity.

Indeed, we do. We also have to look at our time horizon: Will the actions we take be good for the LONG term, or just for next week? You can build an impressive house out of straw... but will it last as long as one built from stone?

You bring up many good points.

Please don't follow me. But if you do I will follow back;)

Nice post, upvote. I have no idea how to improve this through system or somehow else.

Thanks! I don't know that there are any easy answers... but I do see more and more people here coming together and saying "enough is enough!" and taking action.

Maybe. I also think the system should change a little rewarding good content. Maybe over time employing some professional curators who would reward or punish quality or lack of it. Because now quality of content matters around 10%, but it should 90%.

I always enjoy your writing. I try to support by upvoting your content as much as possible. Thank you.

Thank you! Appreciate your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06