You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do You Care Too Much About Steemit Blogging Rewards? Find Out Here.

in #steemit7 years ago

Yep... too much drah-mah! I've been watching the show... and I struggle to get past a pervasive sense of entitlement underlying much of what is being said. I've been blogging and writing for over 20 years and most of it has been for free... so getting a few bucks here is a nifty bonus, not something to feel like I am "owed."

In a sense, this whole scuffle has been cool because the level of comments and interaction per post is WAY up... and isn't that what "community" and "social" are really about?

Sort:  

I struggle to get past a pervasive sense of entitlement underlying much of what is being said

So true! I've written about entitlement before. It's a powerful thing we need to be wary of.

isn't that what "community" and "social" are really about?

Heck yeah! Social media without social is just media. I love social media.

Sorry for linking out to older posts, but you're hitting things I love talking about. :)

I like your writing and your thinking, so I'll go check 'em out.

The sense of entitlement is mindblowing. I personally believe this experiment is fantastic for Steemit.

On a sidenote, the moment I started free writing forgetting about any rewards or pleasing anyone it became a lot more pleasant to write.

There's a lot of study about how intrinsic verses extrinsic motivation impacts creative activity. If we're doing it for rewards, quality and enjoyment will go down. The activity itself my stop completely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00