My first week on Steemit! ImpressionssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

Hello Steemian friends,

Initially, I thought today is the anniversary of my first week in the community, but as it turns out, it was yesterday.

I honestly wasn't expecting to like it that much here. It's a week of icebreakers for me, the first time I did blogging and writing about myself. I must say, it feels good to be out in the open. The main difference I observed from other user-interaction platforms is that people are less belligerent and more supportive of every issue that's being discussed. Even those that have few upvotes still get a few comments - and in the end, isn't it this what it's all about? Getting your ideas through to someone and then get feedback?

Choosing my nickname

ender.jpg

Like it says in my introduction post, we have to know ourselves well enough to be able to share it with the world or at least commit to a journey of discovery.

So I go around by many names online. Demostene comes from Demosthenes, who was an ancient orator of the old Athens. I learned about him from one of my favorite books called "Ender's Game" by author Orson Scott Card. (too bad the movie was a disappointment). Demostene (the Romanian translation) was the nickname used by Ender's sister Valentine when she joined discussion forums online. Although she was very peaceful as a character she took a belligerent stance. It was a good lesson on contrasts.

perspectiva.jpg

This week I had my first blog experience. @stellabelle 's post inspired me, so I started writing about what was like to grow up in my country in the 90's or about Perspectives.

Since I started it, it keeps on coming; I just want to write all day. And it feels great. It seems like Steemit pushed the right button for me.

One of the other things I like to do is play guitar, so I shared a little improv' with the world. Also, I found out about D tube and hope to find more music friends around. I'm thinking of trying out openmic sometimes this week.

Thank you for reading! If you relate to anything I've written here, you can follow me in my journey @demostene and I will follow back :)

Cheers,
D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78