Steemit New Reputation Rating: Can Someone please Explain?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hi guys,
Work up this morning to find the new changes to the steemit platform. To be honest, I think they are trying their best to make this platform better and look more attractive. I like the feel and the look of the new member's page and the arrangement of the menu.

My major challenge at the moment is this:
I slept yesterday with a reputation of 3, which was restored after a few days of being in the gutters with a reputation of -6 because a whale decided to punish me for wrong post tagging of an article. I am waking up today to a reputation of 42. What in the world does this mean? I have check other steemit members as well and I found a corresponding shift/change in their reputation scores. Is there a guideline to understanding this new rating? What is the new equivalent of bad reputation? What is the highest possible rating for this new system? is that 100? Since it looks like they have gone decimal on us. What is the new reputation score to get into the elite class of being a whale on steemit?

These are my questions. Can anyone who understands this new system please enlighten me and everyone else like me, who would want to know.

Thanks in advance for your time and explanations.

Happy Steeming

image

Sort:  

I would really like to understand this as well. The fact is it is based on a very complex algorithm which keeps changing as time elapses. I think it is also a factor of number of interactions with the blockchain. The more frequent you make the system compute, the lesser the rewards. I started with two posts and stopped for sometime to exactly understand this, still learning.

All the best and stay blessed.

@cryptokris Thanks for your reply. The lesser the rewards? I thought the whole idea of this platform is to increase the engagement of people with one another using the platform. If that is true, then it is a problem

We should hopefully get an official post with explanation of the new reputation system. I thought it should be from 0 to 100 with no negative numbers, but it seems that ot steemwhales.com there are some users with negative reputation again.

That will be ridiculous though. Or probably the new rating system is yet to take off on steemwhales.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63706.48
ETH 2637.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83