Giving Back With Steemit! I'm Donating $800 to a Charity that YOU choose :-)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Blessed Thursday to you, beautiful people of Steemit-land!

When I first joined the platform, I said that I was coming to Steemit in order to give back. Now that I've been consistently posting on the platform for a few weeks, I've pulled out some STEEM and I'm ready to make the first donation. I've got $800 in hand, ready to go to a good cause, and I want to hear your thoughts!

char

(Image Source)

How it works

I have one charity in mind already, but I'm open to your input, because it just makes sense for Steemit to have a say in where this Steemit-generated abundance goes. If you have an idea, just leave a comment below with the name of the charity, their website, and a brief description of what they do/why you think they should receive the donation. At the time of payout for this post, whichever comment has the most upvotes (number, not $ value) is where it will all get donated.

Even if you don't have something in mind as a recipient, please scroll down and check out the other submissions. I'd like to hear from as many of you as possible, and hopefully this will be a good way for all of us to learn about some new causes too :-)

2nd

My submission

My submission for this discussion is a local charity, called a 2nd cup. Their purpose is to end human trafficking, and they have a cafe here in Houston, which they use as their primary fundraising tool, as well as a venue to spread awareness.

2nd Cup is a great community institution here in Houston, already having done great work in the couple years they've been around. Last year, the Houston Free Thinkers held a benefit for survivors of human trafficking, and donated the $250 we raised directly to 2nd Cup. We are actually hosting another benefit for them on the 23rd of this month. I am so happy to work with local activists and organizers to raise money in support of the efforts of groups like this.

From their website:

Our Mission

To provide an avenue for generating awareness of human trafficking in Houston, and to work towards the abolition of slavery in our city.

To work alongside a variety of anti-trafficking organizations and movements to raise awareness, generate interest, and engage the public to take action.

To become a money-making engine that funds aftercare solutions for survivors of human trafficking, including: housing, mentoring, tutoring, job skills and other life skills for reintegration into society.

Let's make the world a little better!

Thank you so much for reading, up-voting, following me, being a part of this paradigm shift, and being the beautiful, powerful divine being that you are! I'll probably be doing one of these posts each month, though they may come a little more/less often.



db

I am an investigative journalist and liberty activist; a Lead Investigative Reporter for ActivistPost.com and the founder of the TheConsciousResistance.com & The Houston Free Thinkers. I have also co-authored three books with @johnvibes: The Conscious Resistance: Reflections on Anarchy and Spirituality and Finding Freedom in an Age of Confusion, Vol. 1 and Finding Freedom in an Age of Confusion, Vol. 2

Donate via Bitcoin: 16fDdrZvt9XUv7TyboSYtaHfcxMb22Yiew

I am always available for interviews, Please contact [email protected]

I greatly appreciate any support here or on my other social media:

Sort:  

My submission:
a 2nd cup

a 2nd Cup is a great community institution here in Houston. Last year, the Houston Free Thinkers held a benefit for survivors of human trafficking, and donated the $250 we raised directly to 2nd Cup. We are actually hosting another benefit for them on the 23rd of this month. I am so happy to work with local activists and organizers to raise money in support of the efforts of groups like this.

That sounds like a great place for the money to go.

If you do this again in the future, before pulling the funds out of Steem you might consider donating to an initiative that I am a part of -- @familyprotection -- we are raising funds to help loving families protect their families from the legal kidnappers known as "Child Protection Services" / aka Social Services.

How about this: 100% of the liquid SBD of this post will go to @familyprotection :-)

That is great! Thanks so much

Good job @dbroze! keep up the good work!

I think your suggestion is great. You have to be careful of the charities you give to, so if you trust them, I say do it!

I usually tend to suggest a animal conservation charity in these types of posts, but I think your suggestion for a 2nd cup is great, so I vote for that as well ;)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Delegate/donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: Bye bye 25+ and 50+! Welcome 20+ 40+ and 60+!

Donate but also really invest and learn investing well, we need the next generation of wealth to be in the hands of people just like you! If you look at your crypto as 99% nest egg and 1% disposable and actionable I think over-all you'll make 1000 times more change in the world.

Great advice, I definitely see a lot of value in the crypto-realm, and am building up some decentralized holdings. I'm definitely keeping my SteemPower building, but the liquid 50% is a great way to invest in a variety of things without having to generate more fiat just to move it into the crypto market.

Not so fast. The liquid part has gone up 10 times in value from its original $1. If your really diligent in the beginning it is the easiest way to make spending sustainable. Tell your friends how you did it too.

My friends use to joke that when I opened my wallet flies would come out..

This post has received a 4.25 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @dbroze. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dbroze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love what you did here. So I helped resteem too. I hope it's not too late for me to contribute a little this way @dbroze. I have a local charity drive myself too and I'm helping them out by creating content here for them. You can find the content link here: https://steemit.com/animals/@deborism/steemit-charity

Thanks so much in advance. Merry Christmas :)

Human Traficking in this day and age is beyond abhorant; how anyone can justify enslaving another for profit is beyond my comprehension. New here in Steemit, with much 'Kitchen Sink Spirituality' wisdom to share I eagerly anticipate the day that I too have disposable income and an engaged audience so as I, like you, can give back. I wish you well in all you do and invite you to browse my page. With love xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66