Should I power up to 5000 Steem Power & leave the minnow world?

in #steemit6 years ago

steemitnew01.jpg

Lately I've been pulling out a small portion of SBD from my account with the general idea that SBD will rise once again to the $7-$8 USD level. Currently, it is again sitting below $5 USD.

sbd.png

At the same time, incoming rewards have been generally lower for my content lately. I could speculate about this (more youtubers publishing content to Steemit, fewer whales upvoting during this depression in Steem and SBD prices, who knows), but truly that's beyond my control.

Should I buy Steem Power with SBD?

Over time, I've made investments in Steem Power with SBD, but at significantly different STEEM and SBD values. The question now is, I could power up to 5000 Steem Power and officially no longer be a minnow with about 125 SBD.

sbd2.png

What do people think about this? Is it a good idea in general? Is it a good idea at current STEEM/SBD exchange rates?

Sort:  

I will power up all SBD i get eventually. I am, like you, waiting for the right moment and concersion rate. 5k Steem Power is my goal atm.

Do it David!!!! I've said so many times, this is a marathon, not a quick race!!! today is the day you become a Dolphin my friend!

Like anything else you put your money into @davidpakman, It's a speculative investment. But, for the potential over the long haul, seems a worthy re-investment of the rewards you have earned since coming to the site. To which, by the way, you have been a great addition... Glad you're here... what do you have to lose?

No... maybe dont do that... Maybe it is better if You do that to me LOLOLOL

eheheh :D

You should go for it for sure. Cause You are one of the guys that came from conventional media but have embraced the community in here. :D

How much is your vote worth?

well that depends on the value of Steem at the time, right?

What benefit is there to remain a minnow except that they can dive deeper than a dolphin who has to come to the surface for air once in a while. Same with being a whale. The biggest downside to being a minnow is that dolphins and whales are always trying to eat you.

I can't tell if these are metaphors or if you are speaking literally.

Sorry. Mostly whimsical. I don't yet know enough to fully appreciate the impact of your decision one way or the other. Is there some place here that establishes the minnow, dolphin, and whale levels or is it just metaphorical? Thanks!

SP is where it's at. The goal is to grow your influence as much as possible before the masses are on Steemit. I say Power Up!

thank you, I just might!

Where did you get that graph? It's pretty cool!
SBDs are designed to eventually go back down to $1 (where they are intended to be) So I think hoping that they will go up is a huge risk. I would buy steem with sbd as soon as you get them. Steem is designed to go up in value while SBDs are designed to stay at $1.

the graph is from steem.supply

@davidpakman flexing on us plebs ...JK ...go for it , I am waiting for a drop in price to power up to that level.

I have been holding back reinvesting my BTC mining income for the same reason. BTC is so low that the earnings are reflect this. So it will be better to HODL the BTC and reinvest when it pops back above 10K

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36