You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The value of Steem and its users: 1 Steem user = 10 Facebook users!

in #steemit7 years ago

There's definitely potential for growth for Steemit. Comparing the value of Facebook and Steemit is like comparing apple and orange. People share information on Facebook freely and more organically while users on Steemit are largely motivated by financial returns.

As a user of both platforms, I feel that Steemit is more "noisy" than Facebook with the number of valueless posts. I'll continue to use Facebook to read thought provoking articles.

My 2 cents worth of thoughts.

Sort:  

I agree.

One advantage FB has is the ability to control what you see. If I have a friend whose posts I don't want to see, I can unfollow them without unfriending them. A friend/page/group whose posts I want to see at the top of my feed? Then I just click "See first".

I think the noise of valueless posts will decrease as the people writing them without getting upvotes realize that it is not worth their time. Personally I follow very few people and spend more time going deep in the comments of articles like this one which bring up points I'm very interested in.

I presume you'll follow me then. :D

haha. Now, I believe Steemit can go down the route of Facebook, which will eventually make it a copycat. Then again, what constitutes value differ largely from person to person. Furthermore, our diverse interests in various subjects depend on our mood swings.

I see a lot of people saying we should write "valuable" posts. What exactly is high-quality value post is extremely hard to define. I guess at the end, quality = time and effort put into each post.

I think a high value post can be defined in two main ways:

  1. How much time you spend on it.
  2. How much knowledge you have on the topic.

If you're seriously lacking in either of those it's going to be extremely hard to create a high value post.

Totally. And we have to combat our inner desire to see that quick upvote on every post that we published.

It's sort of like the marshmallow experiment here. :D

interesting. My experience is a bit different. I feel content here is most valuable compared to others..... Would be interesting to hear more about this from you.

Perhaps, you have a way to filter the people whom you are following. I'm not sure. The people whom I'm following have some great posts time to time. After awhile, they start to post crap on my feed. I have people I don't follow also appear in my feed. I guess I start to mass "cull" the people I'm following to avoid reading junk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28