STEEMIT USER EXPERIENCE IMPROVEMENTS - Here's 2 that will make me happy

in #steemit6 years ago

Do you have ideas on how to improve the Steemit interface? What features would you ask for?

MENTIONS

I would love to know exactly who is mentioning me and how to find those mentions quickly! There are so many times that people mention others, but currently there is no easy way to find that in this user interface. Adding a MENTIONS tab next to REPLIES makes sense to me.

VOTING POWER

My son, @espenkirby (will he see that mention? ) is a younger user here on Steemit. His perspective is a bit different than mine simply because he has grown up using apps and playing games. He is very interested in using Steemit since I explained it to him like a strategy game. He's totally into it. Since it is like a game and there are certain strategy tips to adhere to why not make it more apparent to the user? His immediate reaction was "Why isn't voting power shown on the Steemit user interface?".

I agree with him. Why do we need to go to sites like steemd.com to find that?

What features would you like to see? Do you agree with these two that I've listed?


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

I like those 2 features. I would also like to see the Blog tab separated into 'Blogs I Post' and 'Blogs I Resteemed'.

I now run @ginabot through discord while on Steemit to get notifications when I am mentioned, upvoted, commented etc. It works well for the time being.

2 things I would love to see.

  • An option to schedule your post. I am a night owl and get most of my work done while others are asleep. I After want to post an article that I worked hard on but the timing is not good as most of my followers will be off line and my post will get buried before they see it.

  • When re-steeming, an option to write a little blurb about why you chose to share it and or why your audience should check it out. Sometimes there is content that would be relevant to a group but it is not apparent from the title.

YES❗️ I agree completely with you they should both be added.

Another item that I could see long term benefits would be a "Playlist" which would help those who do a lot of videos.

Yes! or a way to sort/search a particular users content.

Your post is very nice and your post came in handy to me

So glad you found it helpful.

Yes to both! I find it really odd that you can “tag” someone essentially but there’s really no way to tell. Kind of pointless if you ask me. And yes to voting power bar! Lol! So cute. I never thought of that 😂

The voting bar had crossed my mind, but wasn't essential until my son pointed it out. I figure if we want a younger crowd using this site we need to listen to what matters to them.

And I JUST thought of a big one... the very narrow selection of tags with no easy way to pull up tags that are popular but maybe not quite “trending”. That is a big one for me.

^Yes, this one!

Absolutely.. not everyone is patient enough to fight through the quirks and learning curve.

I agree with the Mentions tab. I know some people have scripts setup to find out when someone mentions them outside of a reply or comment.

The voting power idea is good too, even if there are several apps right now that give that information.

If I understood how Utopia worked better, I would say put this over there.

The idea that we need to go to another app or site to find this info is not good. A dedicated Steemit user should have all the tools at hand in Steemit.

Agreed.
But, the apps like Steem.Supply, SteemStats and SteemDB provide a bunch more information. Vote Power is important, but it might take longer to calculate and then cause a delay for loading the site each time you click on an article.

Hi @daddykirbs, have you tried the Steemit More Info plugin :

It adds in both the Mentions and the Voting Power.

Unfortunately there doesn't seem to have been any activity on it for a while but it works and is very useful.

I have not. I'll take a look. Really it should be native to the Steemit site and app (when available).

Agreed. I would much rather it be part of the core site. Steemit is rather too much of a "bolt it on and hope for the best" system with all the extra apps and the like needed.

But of course it is still beta and hopefully these refinements will be heading over the mountains to a steemit near us sometime real soon.

That's two excellent addition. A third one would be to add not just users to your feed but also categories and also an option to mute certain categories no matter from whom they come.

If you check out Steemworld, you will find at the top stats about your voting power and at the bottom under "tools" the section "mentions". Unfortunately, @steemchiller who created the site seems not to regard it as a priority. But maybe if you ask him nicely, he will add this function.

Something like this? Adding a search feature to the tags would make it easier to find appropriate tags. The toggles beside them would give the user the ability to follow or mute entire categories based on tags.

Yes. That! Feel free to annoy the witnesses until they add it.

Love it! upvoted, resteemed...already following you ;)

Thank you very much! We'll see if the devs are listening :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30