These Automated Follow/Unfollow Bots Were Driving Me Crazy! Did HF20 Fix it?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

follow.png


This part was written before HF20 and could not be published because of the subsequent implementation of resource credits. At the bottom I've added an update for my experiences after HF20.


I'm really getting pretty annoyed with all these automated follow/unfollows from accounts that don't have any content. I'm using Ginabot to keep up with all my notifications and I've had to turn the follow notifications off, just because there's too much spam going on.

A while ago I saw a thread on Bitcointalk with a complete tutorial, explaining how to set up an automatic follow/unfollow script. Turns out it's so easy that a child could do it, no wonder these sorts of bots are running rampant here.

I know that there's currently nothing do do about it, but I at least responded to the thread, saying that I thought it was a pretty unethical thing to do. I really doubt anyone cares ...

What are they even using these accounts for? The people who are following these bots back are usually just newbies who don't know what they're doing, or perhaps it's other bots automatically following them back?

I really wouldn't trust any of these accounts that have gained like 10k followers, just by setting up an automated script. If anyone knows how to blacklist all the notifications from these accounts, please share!


After HF20

With the recent switch to the RC system, I've noticed that these bots have ceased their actions, at least for me they have. I'm wondering if that's because now there's an added cost for following and if they're going to come back eventually.

I'm going to re-enable follow notifications on Ginabot and keep a close eye on the situation. I'd be very glad if most of these follow bot accounts are now rendered defunct because of the latest HF20 upgrade. If nothing happens, I'm probably not going to make another post on this topic.


Source of first image: Image created by Goodfreephotos and released under Public Domain; Modified by @daan using Gimp

Advertisement


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT


Stish Airdrop


Sort:  

I used to wonder about those, too, back when I was still getting used to Gina. But I turned off those notifications pretty much straight-away. I don't want to know who follows or unfollows me. Not even the real ones.

I have noticed a drop lately too. I really noticed a drop off when I stopped using vote buying services though. It is curious that they do this, I don't quite understand what the end goal is. Especially if they are not posting content, what is the point of getting tons of followers...

They're basically building their following for offering resteem services in the future, at least I think most of them do it for that. I've also seen Steem accounts being offered for sale at forums, so that's also an option.

Ohh yes those drive me nuts as well, I kept the notifications on but blocked a few of them onGina, but still get a few every day

I've had like 30 accounts constantly following/unfollowing me for weeks, just couldn't keep up with blocking them all. Luckily it seems to have slowed down a bit now.

WOW I dont think I ever had it that bad luckily

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Daan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.618 which ranks you at #5440 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 34 places in the last three days (old rank 5406).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 207 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I didn't get too many before, but now you mention it the seem to be gone. I'm talking GinaBOT notifications.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87