Why Steemit Will Revolutionize The Visual Arts Industry

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

enter image description here

I threw together a quick visual mockup of what the GUI could look like. This is nowhere near the final design. I am currently working on a refined and detailed version which will be as slick as a dolphin. Comments and suggestions are most most most welcome!

Visual content is always a winner. Pictures are worth a thousand words and all that. What Steemit brings to the table is something that will most definitely get most, if not all creative content creators out there salivating.

Think Youtube, Vimeo, Artstation.com, Behance.net and Motionographer.com

Steemit can and will do this, but better!

These websites generate tons of content, hours of entertainment and the ability to wow.

I've been in the professional visual arts industry for 10 years now. I studied film and animation in Malaysia for 5 years; then moved to London and started my motion graphics, vfx and editing career. Having worked in a medium sized digital advertising agency, I know how the full time life is. After being full time, I started my company, The Albedo Effect. Been on my own since and have never looked back!

In the creative visual industry, you can only find work if you have an online showreel or portfolio. Even if you are finding work through a recruitment agency, they will ask you for your online showreel or portfolio.

Currently, the websites I have mentioned, some of which I am a member of, allow you to showcase your work and build a profile among the creative community. There are also job posts on all these website which is handy. I always check the job postings for work.

enter image description here

enter image description here

Web Traffic

The thing about these types of websites, you get a tremendous amount of web traffic that spend ages trawling through bucket loads of awesome creative content. As content is so immersive, the community naturally interacts with each other.

The problem for me here is that these website are generating lots of value on the back of our content. Steem stands to change all of this. It's time to remove the middle man from the equation.

enter image description here

Creatives have to constantly be looking at new works and designs as it builds our mental visual database. You will be inspired by things that you see, like particular animations, design styles or even colour combinations that you thought worked.

Whenever I am tasked with coming up with a new design or animation, my brain starts going through all the content I have ingested and starts pulling inspiration from it all.

**

If I've liked what you've done then its been valuable to me. If it's valuable to me, then it most definitely should bring value to you!

**

Hope you enjoyed the article and are as excited about the future as I am.

Comments and suggestions are most welcome. Would love to know what you all think!

Driven by Steem!

cc :)

#motiongraphics
#motion
#creative
#media
#film
#visual
#creativesgettingpaid
#contentisking

Sort:  

I post a video on youtube and I receive at best 1 or 2 cents reward, the same video I get 5x or more on steemit

Exactly!

Steemit is definitely a contender to gain a large share of the online visual content market in my opinion.
Where it will all go? Who knows, but I am definitely up for the journey!

Looks great!

I can see some potential with this application for sure. Keep at it... :-)

Definitely going to keep at it :).
Super busy getting work done for the Paris auto show at the moment so not being able to devote a ton of time to Steem is starting to annoy me :).

You need to rename this post, it's not obvious that you are proposing a video design.

Which is really good by the way...

CG

I'm still finding titles quite challenging. The more I blog, the better they will get hopefully!
The amount of overcomplicating that happens when it comes to thinking about a good title is just ridiculous. :)
Will have a think of changing the title up a bit.

Thanks cryptogee!

To me steem dont have to take all feature , because by posting a blog we already struggling .
The more feature we got the less vote we get , why im saying this . here the point steemit very very fresh in this thing just like us , we cant do all voting , posting and commenting all at once . at the end we the one who lose . lets focus one at the time. Steemit need it own trademarks you cant slaughter all others social media. Correct me of im wrong newbie here .

It's not about slaughtering others...it's about slowly proving why you are better than the rest.

It's going to make a big impact on the industry. The truth, though, is that very few people will actually make the big money, so it's always a risk. Visual arts, particularly story/narrative driven movies, are very expensive, and it might be too much of a gamble to go Steemit.

I agree to a degree. Yes, not everyone will make big money, but value is value. It beats just leaving it somewhere where it won't really generate anything.
When it comes to video, gifs or images, more often than not, people will check it out.
As a creative myself, when I get a like on work that I've done or praise from the people I'm working for...it really boosts the confidence. Imagine generating actual value. It really would go a long way.
It's not really a gamble I don't think, if enough people start looking at Steemit as another place where they can find creative visual content they will come. The other incentive is that you know the artists is getting the credit they deserve on this kind of platform.
Steemit has a lot of potential, it's still early days. I will spread the word in my circles and in time we will hopefully see people putting more and more faith in this platform.

Thanks for the comment! Onwards and upwards! :)

CC

Good post!

Steem is quite the forerunner proof-of-concept on how the Blockchain can be used as a mean of voting and monetising intellectual contents.

From what we have seen with the recent hack, history of BTC and ETH and evolution from Friendster to Facebook, we can be sure that online business model (or maybe the whole economy concepts) will be overhauled again and again, possibly beyond how we see it now.

IoT is coming also and will the trading break out into other aspects of our lives?

There is a talk of universal income but that a completely new can of worms altogether.

Thanks Ioewan!

Things will continuously change. The "normal" money that we use everyday will change at some point too. It will always be a different re incarnation of the same thing. Hopefully, the decentralised nature of the blockchain will allow for less meddling and biased control.
I think with the way the world has gone in the last 50 years or more, people are slowly but surely getting fed up with economics as we know it. Bitcoin and the blockchain is an attempt to challenge the system as we know it, which is why I think Steemit won't be going anywhere any time soon. It still needs to mature into it's grown self, and then we'll see where it goes.
It's up to us to keep Steemit valuable.

Beavers can hold their breaths for up to 45 minutes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16