You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Survival of a Cockroach

in #steemit5 years ago

Dear @everyone who is reading my comment :)

line2.png

I introduced you all (Via memo) to this publication published by my great friend @jadams2k18. It's a subject very close to my heart and we're having quite an interesting discussion related to "sending mass memos".

We all realized already that some people do not like this method of reaching out to others, where majority of users seem to be okey.

I would love to know your opinion. I read and upvote all interesting comments :)

Yours
Piotr

Sort:  

I don't have a problem with it but I see how it could become one. A quick and easy but not completely through fix would be to hide transactions from muted accounts.

Very true @felipejoys

I thought about this solution just a few days ago. We should be actually allowed to block transactions from users we want to ban/mute.

Yours
Piotr

Yes for me this is the same issue, I am fine with memos from users like yourself, however if I mute an account I don't want to see their messages.

Cg

Dear @cryptogee

I only had a chance to read your comment now (somehow I've skipped it before).

Thank you for taking the time to reply. Appreciate it.

Yours
Piotr

No worries! :-)

Cg

Hello, @felipejoys

That would be an acceptable solution and I guess it wouldn't be difficult to implement. Maybe in some new fork, that option can be implemented.

Thank you for your support, rest assured I won't abuse memos.

I don't get many memos on steemit and the ones I do get are usually interesting and I don't mind responding to them. I saw the commotion about memos recently, I don't understand why this is such a big deal for some people. I wouldn't like it if it was spamming my inbox a lot, but as its just an occasional thing, I think it's fine.

Appreciate your comment @justinchicken

Love it! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

Yours, Piotr

Is this a kind of social science, about advertising by sending STEEM with memo? I guess it's a good way to let people notice someone who want to manage their Steemit. But there is a risk of someone who keep sending memo with low STEEM to annoy another one.

The 0.003 STEEM is very - very low, and I interacted this comment just out of curiosity. But if the amount goes up (maybe half ahead and half after a specific action is taken), this might be an interesting way of engaging new people

Hi @sm-pro, If you think a bit about the information that he share with us, interesting posts with us and that really help us, you would not be complaining about the amount but rather thanking the knowledge and time that person dedicated to make the post and also thanks to @crypto .piotr we can know that valuable information that they share and that he shares with us, but like you, many have different points of view to mine.

Hola sm-pro Si piensa un poco sobre la información que él comparte con nosotros, publicaciones interesantes con nosotros y que realmente nos ayudan, no se quejaría de la cantidad, sino que agradecería el conocimiento y el tiempo que esa persona dedicó a hacer la publicación y también gracias a @crypto.piotr podemos saber la valiosa información que comparten y que él comparte con nosotros, pero como usted, muchos tienen puntos de vista diferentes a los míos.

Dear @awfunn

I appreciate your support but I would also like to point out, that my goal is not to convince people to follow "my ways" but to learn what do they think. For that reason I'm thankful to @sm-pro for his feedback.

Cheers guys :)
Piotr

Dear @ crypto.piotr

That is why I say that many have different points of view to mine and I want @ sm-pro to thank for the knowledge and not only for the monetary value that this represents, but in any case I cannot change the way of thinking of a person if She does not want to do it, but I accept that, I have also known that you want to know that we think about the posts and it is very good that you share it with us, thanks for reading.

Estimado @crypto.piotr

Por eso digo que muchos tienen diferentes puntos de vista a los míos y quiero que @sm-pro agradezca por el conocimiento y no solo por el valor monetario que esto representa pero de todas formas no se puede cambiar la forma de pensar de una persona si ella no quiere hacerlo, pero acepto eso, también he sabido que quieres saber que pensamos sobre las publicaciones y es muy bueno que lo compartas con nosotros, gracias por leer.

I love how responsive you are @awfunn :)

Thank you again @crypto.piotr, have a good afternoon or night

Gracias por comentar, muy interesante tu punto de vista. Me alegra saber que valoras el tiempo y el conocimiento que una persona dedica en hacer un post. Quizas siempre esperamos a recibirlo por medio de los votos, pero son los comentarios lo que nos ayudan mas a comprender y mejorar la calidad de nuestras publicaciones.

Gracias por venir

////

Thank you for commenting, very interesting your point of view. I'm glad to know that you value the time and knowledge that a person devotes to making a post. Perhaps we always wait to receive it through the votes, but it is the comments that help us more to understand and improve the quality of our publications.

Thank you for coming

Siempre es un gusto dar mi punto de vista a una publicación interesante como las que siempre publicas @jadams2k18

///

It is always a pleasure to give my point of view to an interesting publication like the ones you always publish @jadams2k18

Generally, the memos I have sent are 0.005 or higher. Because I am aware that it is a very low value, however, let's remember that this is a blockchain so the price of posting a message should not be expensive and one of the features of a blockchain is the low fees.

Thanks for commenting

Personally I do not mind receiving memos, and like many Venezuelans who make a living by sharing content in this ecosystem, a few cents that would probably be ignored elsewhere, for me and my compatriots can make a big difference in a country where inflation levels they are astronomical figures, difficult to imagine for those who do not suffer it.

On the other hand, I perceive that Steemit has become a community of bots instead of readers, where the creative effort, because that is exactly what we do when publishing, is not properly rewarded, among other reasons, because it is difficult to reach a audience broad enough that can value this effort. The mass sending of memos is a low strategy that can pay off to attract readers, and I do not think it's an invasion of privacy.

Greetings @ jadams2k18 and @crypto.piotr!

Great comment @manuelgil64

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on that particular subject with us. Appreciate it a lot.

Yours, Piotr

It was a pleasure!

Hello @manuelgil64

That's true about the situation in our country. And as you say, maybe it's just a few cents, but here they make a difference. I'm glad you don't mind the memos. I won't abuse them anyway.

Thanks for your kind words

Every penny counts!

Dear @crypto.piotr

To me it is not a big deal
Specily because you help new people by sending them a little motivation
Yes it is few but it encourage people to do more and get into big discussion

Keep going what you are doing
Hope to see you given more in the future

Appreciate your comment @hbib

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

Yours, Piotr

Appreciate your comment @hbib

Thank you so much for your support

Shit... Want my opinion? You will get it and... Followed voted and sharing.

And you double sent me 0.003 so total 0.006...

Sweet!

And big warning right off most people sending links are warned not to follow as due to scams and phishing.

But you are paying me? Shit go ahead and link.

Now might have been easier to just follow and start interacting...

But you have a pretty fun and unique way of reaching out.

I'm actually voting and sharing this.
.good job. Go ahead and pay people of course that's incentive.

Besides the voted comments?

You keep it up its growing!

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on that particular subject with us. Appreciate it a lot.

Now might have been easier to just follow and start interacting...

That's exactly what I do. I gather list of accounts posting something related to topics that I think are interesting and then I'm sending to all of them 2-3 memos within one month.

I follow those who reply and I support their content from that very moment :)

Yours, Piotr

Personally makes me pay attention to mass memos if amounts are over 0.001 STEEM/SBD and the link or the content is relevant to myself and not just a one size fits all blatantly spammy message.

Appreciate your comment @klye

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

Yours, Piotr

Hello @klye

I'm so glad you stopped by and commenting.

I think memos with that amount could be considered spam. I try to send them a little higher (0.005 or higher) to attract attention and at least for this amount is not badly received.

Appreciate your comment

As I am here because of your memo @crypto.piotr, I suppose that points to the idea that regardless of what people may think about wallet memos, they do work to some degree as a marketing tool.

But — as I wrote in my original answer to @jadams2k18 — it's sketchy territory because wallet memos are used extensively to spam totally useless re-steem services to uninformed Steemians and even get used for phishing and scam attempts. So it is only natural that people look at wallet memos from a negative perspective.

But consider this, though: If everybody suddenly started mass messaging people to go read their posts, what would it be like? I fear your notifications would be going off every six seconds and there would be a huge uproar against it, from the community!

Bright Blessings!

Great comment @whitelightxpress

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on that particular subject with us. Appreciate it a lot.

But consider this, though: If everybody suddenly started mass messaging people to go read their posts, what would it be like?

Most people would lose all their resources very quickly. Sending 1000 memos is not cheap and it only make sense to send them to people who will most likely read it and engage back.

Yours, Piotr

Hello again, @whitelightxpress!

I guess then, if that scenario occurs, the platform would put a minimum price per memos, say 0.05 STEEM or more. So people would avoid sending memos.

Thanks for commenting again

I have no problems with memos. I mean it's free Steem/SBD and I try to check out the post given on the memo depending on my interest and time.

My only recommendation will be to keep the memos short and brief even though I'm okay with it however it's presented.

I'm glad you don't mind memos.

My only recommendation will be to keep the memos short and brief even though I'm okay with it however it's presented.

I'll keep it in mind for my next memos.

Thank so much you for your support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10