Steem Desktop v.0.2 - New Feature Added [Changelog August 11, 2017]

in #steemit7 years ago

STMDV02.png


I've been able to spare some time to add another functionality or feature to this STEEM application. It's not necessarily useful for tracking personal statistics, but more like looking at what other users vote on. So, it's kindof a 'spying' thingy. :)

As you can see above, I added a new tab called 'Votes Given', which lists the last 100 votes made by the user. And the columns represent: the author of the post for which the vote was given, the weight (in percents), and the permlink of the post.

To get a bit into the technical side, the first few attempts at coding this feature sucked because I was retrieving the posts via the 'account_history' and it would sortof retrieve the entire history of the account (which takes seconds and delays the process and the application). But upon a closer inspection of steem-python methods, I figured that it's better to use the 'account_history2', which is a reverse history (from the most recent to the first transaction/post/etc) and I only retrieved the last first 100 items (in this case, votes). And the entire operation takes milliseconds.

So, that's basically how I avoided the delay.

It his my hope that steemit users will use this app, as I add more features and functions to it. For one, unlike with many of the stuff that I code, I use this app everyday (see the previous release, for the addictive 'why').

You can find the current version of the app in my github:

Steem Desktop v.0.2


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

That looks great, I'm going to play around with that app for a bit. Just curious, why did you choose for a desktop app and not a web app?

practice, web app is already there - see steemstats.com. however, I may code something of my own (in the future), if I could differentiate it from jesta's.

That makes sense. Practice is always useful

Good post @steemit!
Thanks to your sharing!

The desktop app looks good. I guess it would be better if you can develop an app for Android. The eSteem app is slow as a snail. If you could develop a faster one, I guess it will help many.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14