Me: I Have Writer's Block. Inner Me: You Were Never a Writer.

in #steemit7 years ago

The worst part of having a few posts pay very well is having the next few pay next to nothing. It is difficult to appeal to an audience and stay true to yourself at the same time. The reduced payouts have and lack of inspiration have left me a little self defeated.

I am sure everyone consistently posting on steemit goes through the same emotions at one point or another. The old adage of if at first you do not succeed, try, try, again, applies here in my opinion. So if you do not have anything to write about, why not write about that?

Proper intention is the key factor in all of this so I will do my best to ensure this post is rewarding to me by itself. This makes the actual monetary rewards secondary to my own creative fulfillment. This feeling has led to my biggest successes on steemit and it is due to the interconnection of every thing.

It is a fractal universe that we live in so a post that brings joy and fulfillment to me will do the same to my reader. There is so much around us that proves this theory and my anecdotal favorite is "all people come from people". It does not get anymore fractal than that, every person comes from another person.

There is a great deal of adversity on this platform as in life, trust that the bigger the hill to climb the better the feeling at the top. I have been preaching this when others comment about how hard it is to succeed and how the system is actively being "gamed". Of course it is gamed, reality is a mmorpg and people will take and use every advantage they can. You can either do the same or excel so much that even in a gamed system you will succeed.

Bots, bots, bots, and more bots. Steemit is the first crypto I am aware of that can be jumped into face first by anyone in the world with zero technical knowledge. Prior to this one would have to at least download a wallet and backup a file and possibly enter one or two lines of code. Those hurdles were a filter that has been removed, for example my mother @mojojo is an active user and has little technical know how. I feel that lack of understanding can lead to insecurities about the mechanics working behind the scenes to make all of this possible.

For the last few days I have been spending some time attempting to setup a witness and miner. I consider myself technically inclined but the process is daunting. I plan to continue however and learn as much as possible. The way steemit is setup and designed I feel will be the format of web platforms in the future. Sooner I get a handle on it the better, one day I would like to replicate this system at a local city wide level.

That being said the mechanics are out there for everyone even if you cannot comprehend them. The same cannot be said about other platform similar to steemit. Yes there might be some shady business going on to game the system but I guarantee even more sinister things are happening on facebook, twitter, etc.

I am going to continue to post, work on my craft, and support the people of this platform because that is what is in my ability to control. Everything else is just macro problems that will work themselves out one way or the other. Hopefully I will not spend most of that time writing about having nothing to write about, but you never know.

Thank you for reading, upvoting, and commenting. As always your time and effort is appreciated.

badge1badge2SteemVerifybadge3badge4

Sort:  

I can feel it. I want to blog all the time but im so busy and when i have free time to blog I dont want to.

yes , the way to break that would be to either figure out the reason on a mental level so you know the problem and what causes it, or don't spend time thinking and judging and just go for it , make yourself comfortable , ad start doing it , you will feel better and start typing easily, just don't get too concerned with rewards :D that will break your thought pattern , just enter the "zone" and be the top dog :)

Don't force it. It you have something to say, write it down. Try not to think about what others think about it. It is what's on your mind. No one else. Don't expect to feel the need to say something everyday. This should be fun. A hobby. Just flow with whatever follows.

Thanks mom! I am treating like a craft and making sure I practice as much as possible. Started to notice a positive impact in my life. Reconnecting with my mother a bit more for example? Had I not forced myself to write this post than we would not be having this convo...

Yeah the key is to not get attached, and just write about what interests you. Instead of thinking I MUST CATCH A FISH, simply sit back and enjoy the atmosphere while you fish.

My earlier issues were that I'd write something I thought was kind of half assed and an after thought and they would do quite well.

I would write something that had my mind, soul, and time involved in it and it would do almost nothing. Sometimes they literally did $0.

So I just post what I want to post and let the chips fall. About the only way I react to price/value of a post as an indicator that people liked that topic/post and if I have anything else like that IN ME maybe I will want to share it at some point.

So Zen...I was just talking about "not being sticky" last night. Thank you for reminding me of that important lesson. I feel there is a layered cake everyone eats in becoming a steemit author. Obviously not everyone can take it, I am referring to the stats. New users and active users are at a local high but authors is at a low. This speaks to the difficulty a bit I think. Personally I feel this is a great opportunity and motivator. I am now thinking about how to be more engaging and active in my life so that I will have active and engaging content to produce without struggling through "what to write about". Inspiration has come from my recruits a bit, one travels, one is an artist, and the other started a diet to write about. All three now have a content base from which to pull from. These me/inner me posts might just be mine, your comment of recreating past success is why I made a second post with the same theme. I fell I have a few more in me as I am in my head a lot anyway.

I like it when you talk about your feeeelings 😉

Lol, thanks!

Persistence will win the battle.

glad you commented on this, almost tagged you in the fractal section ;)

Seablue does some great posts and has proven to be a supportive friend on here!

I always enjoy your mom's posts, they come from the heart. What I find to be the problem (mine at least) is that the more thought and research I put into an article, the less it makes. When I tell silly stories about my youth, I hit the "big time" (if you consider $20 the big time). I enjoyed your post, upvoted & followed.

I have been trying to stress that $20 converted to SP will be an entirely different amount a year from now. There is also the positive impact on your account to for those posts. So yeah, they are the big time and I will have to check them out.

I hope the same dynamic holds true for the ones that generate 4 cents lol!

I agree with @seablue. Thanks for sharing this great post btw, Cody!
Upvoted & Followed.

:D if that works :D i should use i more often.

As with everyone in the comments I feel the same way, after my first post I was a bit let down , can't say that I've recovered, since I was expecting some conversation to happen I guess and seeing how the steem keeps flowing and people are stuck going forward and always to the new things :D

Just keep growing and growing and worlds of words will be flowing L)

You could always do a legitimate intro profile with proof of life photo and also set that photo as your user thumbnail. That would go a long way and build a lot of rep. Have a face to the words does a great deal for pushing your progress I believe.

I'm sure it will , so far I'm a bit lost I wanted to make a few more posts , so I can at least be a minnow :D , as for the introductions I enjoy anonymity and am quite "shy" , I don't like social media at all. It would happen sooner or later , but so far I'm a bit reluctant to dive in and share everything with everyone. And I don't believe that it's necessary just to hold a conversation, I would like to see bigger things happening and supporting the development or people and communities is what I like here, more like taking part in their honest shares :).

Thanks for the encouragement , you are welcome to my posts anytime :) , I will let you know if i make a personal introductory post, but it's not on my agenda until next month.

All good, my friend @choreboy is doing the same thing. He would agree with you on your points about anonymity. I work under the assumption if someone really wanted to find me they would, there is not much hiding these days. For example type your name into the site below and be ready for a rude awakening.

http://familytreenow.com

hah, well at least you have sustancial public records, I'm not American so it won't be helpful , but yes its easy to find people these days especially if they use the internet , don't google me :D , it's strange since most people have two sets of personality a public and a private one , most other social media support the first , here it's more personal so people are more open, I have my doubts for the internet at large , facebook is more scary, it had my profile before i made it :D , waited for me to make a account and suggested my whole school and friends , public records aren't that scary :D private information is way more valuable and they somehow dig into that , just like here :) , conspiracy much :D

Hey btw https://steemit.com/trubute/@kristy1/contribute-a-tribute-to-win-15-steem-2017112t104850369z there is a mention of you in there , are you hosting any contests too :D , how is it going with your mother by the way , her story kind of inspired me for a short while and gives me hope for the platform :). Even if I'm not acquainted at all with the big fish :D

She is doing better, made a post yesterday. She still needs some assistance here and there but is figuring it out.

26 views 117 votes

yes the trails and the bots bot and the votes get tolled , it's like politics :D I might steal that steem it, image :D.

No need to steal IT - IT's already out there - free to share ;)

great I claim rights then :D how are you 2 rep btw someone been flagging the crap out of you?

Procrastinating on a post to comment on this post! #SteemLife

Interesting Insight on the Witness Interests. Good Lucks!

seems like more than luck is needed, syncing the chain for the third time right now :P

rEsteemed! Great post. It's great seeing some of the pics and memes you've chosen to accentuate the content. I like your work.

Imgur

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97