Happy Birthday Steem Blockchain and my 2000 Follower Milestone!

in #steemit6 years ago

Untitled-1.gif

First of all, Happy Birthday (belated birthday actually) to the Steem Blockchain. On March 24, 2018 the Steem Blockchain celebrated its 2nd year of existence and the creation of its first block. It's hard to believe that 2 years have gone by and that in such a short period of time, Steem/Steemit has become one of the top technologies and sites in the world with a continuously growing user base - time just passes by so fast.

I found Steemit a few months later in July of 2016 by following daily new coin offerings and announcements through the bitcointalk website. Learning that I could make money doing what I do normally by posting blogs, pictures, and other social media content, I quickly signed up. My journey, like most people, started out slow. I was enticed by the big figure earnings listed on the trending page and thought that my posts would almost instantaneously gain the same recognition and rewards. I was wrong. After a number of failed attempts, I figured out that just posting was not enough.

Steemit is like any other Social Media platform when it comes to attracting viewers to your content, you need to build a following, establish relationships, and provide enriching content that will capture and hold the attention of your audience. Not everyone enjoys reading or watching the same thing and because of the number of posts that are created every second of every day, it's easy for your material to get lost in the infinite capacity of the Steem blockchain.

I started joining a number of groups that catered to supporting minnows and new users to gain help and build my follower base. The first group I joined was @curie. Not only did they help boost my earnings and visibility, but they helped to teach me what quality content looked like. They took me one-step closer to better earnings for my posts and gave me that little boost I needed to help get my content recognized. Curie started me on the path of becoming a better writer and content creator but perfecting my style of writing and content is a continuous journey.

Once I graduated from Curie, my follower base had improved, but like most people, my rewards once again started to diminish. This of course, was a discouragement, but nothing I hadn't expected. My main goal was to become a better writer and to build a foundation support base, which is what I accomplished. I had regular viewers and people who read and commented on my posts.

At about this time, @minnowsupport and @whaleshares had started to form. These two groups like @curie were dedicated to helping minnows grow and become successful. Both were led by a number of very influential and supportive leaders and were great places to meet and network with people with similar interests. Because of this unique arrangement, I met a lot of very interesting people and built some great friendships that helped me learn a lot about the Steemit community, how to be more successful, and what I could contribute to the platform aside from just creating posts every day.

Being a good writer is very objective, what you may consider good writing may not be what other's consider good writing. I find that I learn every day and just reading other users posts leads me to become better myself. It's a continues journey of improvement which you will never master, but through trial and dedication, you will become better and eventually get noticed - that visibility may not, however, be for everything you create and one should never expect that. I found myself wanting to do more and inspired by these organizations.

I eventually joined and became fairly active in a number of sub-groups where I met a few people who I became fairly good friends with. Eventually, we banded together to build a foundation for Steemit Philippines. It was a rough start and like most startups, there was so much to do. I found myself online meeting people and building apps almost 24-hours a day. It was a very exciting time and days and nights passed by so quickly. Most of my time was spent setting up my witness and learning to code apps that would one day support the organization. Before we knew it, @luvabi had kicked off the first official Steemit Philippines meetup.

That one meetup was the defining moment in the organization's existence. It set the foundation which would lead to one of the fastest growing groups on Steemit Philippines. Not only did we get the opportunity to share our knowledge about what Steemit and the Steem blockchain was, but we formed a core group and community of people who would collectively built what SteemPH is today. With a strong, passionate, and fun loving community, SteemPH has achieved and grown faster and bigger than any of us could have anticipated.

I continue to look forward to supporting the PH community as well as a number of new communities and projects that I have started to partner up with and join. There is still so much to do and this is only the beginning. Based on my experience as a witness, the Steem blockchain is new and continues to grow at a lightspeed rate which is shown by the number of times I have had to upgrade my servers and the constant discussions among other witnesses.

As for myself... Without the 2000+ followers, I would not have gotten to where I am today. The numbers may pale in comparison to others and may not be considered an astronomical achievement, but to me it is amazing. I wanted to take the time to thank all of you from the bottom of my heart for the support you have shown me over the past two years and the continued support you honor me with for the next two years.

Thank You!


Image Sources: [1] [2]


Sort:  

What an honor @cloh76, thanks for the mention.
It's amazing indeed how the community has grown and your help was elemental to getting us to where we are now. We are excited for your many projects for the community!
Only great things ahead :)

Yep. Many great things ahead. You too have done an amazing number of things to help this community grow!

Congratulations on all Steemit 2.000 Followers and Happy Birthday, we are all very happy for this day,

Great achievement friend :) It is true that hard work pay off, i hope you also share tricks and tips to new minnows so we can also have more followers. All the best for your project as well :)

The best advice I can give you is to stay consistent. Push yourself to post as much quality content as possible, dont think about the rewards, and enjoy what you do!

Surely i will do that :)

Congratulations @cloh

happy birthday to both of us.. that is my birthday as well...

Nice. Happy Anniversary and Birthday to you too!

let me drop my "welcome" as I am one of the followers. But of course, I am more than grateful for being involved in the community you built.

Gratias for being always there for us, whenever we need your help.! You are a true leader @cloh! hat's off!

And I thank you for following me. Every follower counts! I will always try to make myself available to help the community anytime!

Congregationalities and All-Stimit 2,000 Followers

Congratulations!!! you are such a good writer and having a 2000+followers mean you made it here in steemit, and i am also one of those followers :)

Thanks for being one of my followers... It truly means a lot!

My writing is ok and hopefully gets better with each post I make. I wouldn't say I made it, but I am definitely proud of my achievements!

Hi cloh76,
Glad to be your 2000th person following you. Congrats on attracting 2000 Steemians who see value in you and your content.

Thanks @hanamana! I appreciate your support. Your support, as well as the support of the other 2000+ followers, is what encourages me to continue to support the Steemit community, however, I can! I'm always looking for feedback, insight, and input that will make me a better content developer and contributor to Steemit!

I am glad you were safe from the Austin bombing....just read your post...wow, that is scary....violence is getting closer to our homes it seems. All we can do is to live one day at a time, it seems.

Have upvoted for your witness

Thanks @tommyrisker. I appreciate the support!

Let's do our best for this community:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83