Introducing: Potty-Bot (or Why You Should Vote for Better Witnesses)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

I am aware of these issues but try to offset what I can by manually curating good content. If everyone started curating more, Steemit would be a much better place. I am with you on the witness thing and always ask new users I invite to set me as a witness proxy. Its best to reward witnesses that do the most for the community. Check out my picks for witnesses on steemd and let me know if you think any of them should be looked at more https://steemd.com/@azfix

I'm all about manual curation now. I have been trying to dive into the rabbit hole of why we have such a shitty witness situation at the moment and all I can tell you with certainty is that many of the top 50 witnesses are bullshit unfortunately.

Good call, I did find a few dead ones and will have to check out the missed blocks more. I need to be a better proxy as more people set me to do so.

Totally agree on the importance of manual curation. So many initiatives and bots meant to face the problems of steemit, a lot of st energy would be better spent just upvoting good posts. That seems not to say all initiatives are crap, but there pay for voting ones, they feel nice when you barely have any payout but they are aweful for the platform. The bigger the so, the more responsibility one has for finding new content or for delegating who those who have more time and energy to do so.

Its work to do it correctly, and hopefully that will be encouraged more in the future. I am not against using bots once you have determined someone is consistently turning out good content. This is not to say you should not keep an eye on things. Ideally it would all be manual, but unfortunately that is not the most profitable way to do things short term anyways. It would be better if more people thought of the platform more long term.

Yep I would say just from a quick overview half of those are dead and/or the people I'm talking about in this post. Check their witness threads and see how many of them are even active anymore. Some of them are missing blocks and never updated their witness as well.

Upvoted, because all this fake-positivity and the circle jerking on Steemit is annoying me to no end!
Also I am really annoyed by a bunch on people on the Trending pages. Half of them only got their positions because they got in early, accumulated high rewarding posts and this drew in more people (not quality of content, but financial payout of content). And the other half already had a following on other platforms, made the jump and insta-cashed 50K a month because their existing followers will upvote whatever they post.
Oh, and not to mention there's a bunch of people posting high payout posts which are basically reposts of other people's content, yet they are earning double digits per post within minutes.

Big, big problems for Steemit.
I'm working my way into a sort of circle with people who don't shitpost and it has been better, but still I worry about the longevity of the platform when this behaviour is so rampant and easily recognizable. I feel like if they disabled the monetary incentive from Steemit, the platform would die out within a month.

Right and as long as they are running witness nodes we are paying them to do it. The post is meant as a satirical take on the situation, but it's a real shituation if you know what I'm saying. :)

We know what you're saying. I wonder if they are reading this...? I hope so!

"Just keep working hard and eventually you'll be a whale" . That's really easy for a whale to say and it's true for some of us now, but it's going to get harder and harder and I'd like to think someone would do well for themselves writing great content even if they are late to the game.

Money as an incentive has good aspects but as the main incentive, it's kind of weak, especially with all the loopholes like bots and self voting.

I'm the same as you, Im trying to encourage a positive kind of circle jerking where quality, commitment to being a decent person and fun are at least equal, if not more important than money and personal gain.

Don't get caught up in the bs, you can still go far just being cool and good even if it's not the quickest or surest way to success, It's far more sustainable

Oh if only they hurry up on that twitter version of Steemit already. Then we could just point all the spam and trash where it belongs. In an environment where there is a short character limit on a post. Then they can post their picture with 3 words or spam each other back and forth with “lolz follow plz I r dank.”

Thoze dank memez tho!!! Lolz!

Naturally, there will need to be a bot that upvotes only the dankest of dank memes!

hhahaha... nice post man...
upvoted and followed..!!!

You have written a well elaborative post. Bots are meant to help the community but due to some greedy leechers they have been corrupted and now we should be more aware and shoot them as soon as we get them.

I agree with everything you said! Again

LOL great post! Maybe we can have a badge made that we can bestow upon them in random 'ceremonies' LOL kinda like steemitboard...

Vote For My Shitness!

Actually a shitness badge could possibly be a great idea and solution... a bot that will just post a "You are shit!" badge to the top 20 worst voted shitposters! Let's invert the system on them!!

LOL, that's a great idea actually. The problem though is many witnesses aren't updating/commenting/replying. I'm pretty sure many of them are just multiple witness nodes from the same people.

This platform lacks governance options. I have not voted for a witness yet, because how the hell am I supposed to choose? I don't know the policies or ideas of any of them. For all I know, they are just simply the biggest whales with the largest amount of following. I am not sure that will lead to the best strategy for all. Maybe there needs to be elections or something.

You catch on quick. :)

I like to think the crap will eventually filter itself out around here and float away if people like you keep at it.

You've figured out my secret plan! Shhhhh, they'll hear you!

I dunno if they'll hear... Circle-jerking is hard work and tends to have a tunnel vision effect.

Wow I get to flag you twice in a row for #waronspam

Are you discriminatory towards robots?!?!?!

Not at all, the people controlling them however....

...those will be the first to go up against the wall when the robot revolution starts..!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87