HOW I GOT SCAMMED OF $18.04 ETHEREUM LAST NIGHT

in #steemit2 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_2022-09-15-22-10-09-73_ee1cec40dcf6eb3919ecbfc5d87e6719.jpg

I didn't want to make this public but after some level of considerations on the advice I received from close friends, I think my story will be a lesson to everyone.

Last night around 10:10pm GMT+1.
I was sitting on a sofa looking after my mom who was receiving a dextrose saline infusion following her recent I'll health, when I received a notification on my cellphone.

PicsArt_09-16-07.04.59.gif

The message was from zahidsun, Yes fake zahidsun 😭😭😭.

@zahidsun has been my friend for years, I knew him from https://bearshares.com and recently he helped me out with the complications I had in setting up my blurt witness node.
We belong to so many telegram and Whatsapp graphene blockchain groups where we run promotions together.
He is a kind hearted man with great integrity and vision.
He accommodates everyone no matter your race and always give support to people when needed.

The message read: Good evening brother, Please help me out with $16.2 eth, I just got an email that one of my servers will expire in few hours.
I went out on an all night program with only one cell phone, I will send it back once I get home. I need it urgently.

IMG_20220916_183423.jpg

Honestly I didn't think twice because I already wasn't in my right state of mind looking at my old woman on sick bed.
The message was a pop up notification which I read without opening the main telegram app.

I Clicked on reply and said send me your eth receive address, which he sent in few seconds.
Then I transferred $16.6 eth with $1.44 fees from my binance wallet to the said address based on trust without proper verification.

A few minutes later, he sent me a message that he has received the coin.
I replied Goodnight sir and dropped my phone on the sofa.

After a few seconds, I got another notification which read in capital letter
FUCK THE MONEY IS NOT COMPLETE
Immediately I realized it wasn't @zahidsun because I know him to be a noble Muslim who would never use such derogatory speech as FUCK.

Screenshot_2022-09-16-19-20-59-53_6012fa4d4ddec268fc5c7112cbb265e7.jpg

Then I rushed and wrote him on WhatsApp to confirm if he was actually the one chatting with me.
I noticed he wasn't online.
Then I went back to my last chat with him on serey Africa group telegram and click on the message box.
To my greatest surprise, I saw my chat history with him was not reflecting the recent messages.
It now dawned on me that I was chatting with a fake account 😭😭😭.
He blocked me when I told him I knew he was a scammer and thus lost all chats with him.
For a moment my adrenaline was up and running steadfastly because I was devastated.

I haven't been a victim of such scam in my life, I only hear about them on social media.
But last night was my turn and it didn't play well with me emotionally.

Screenshot_2022-09-16-08-58-06-68_948cd9899890cbd5c2798760b2b95377.jpg

Screenshot_2022-09-16-08-57-43-98_948cd9899890cbd5c2798760b2b95377.jpg

This morning, I read in blurtcast telegram group that the same scammer tried to defraud @tekraze and @clixmoney but the were smarter and blocked him.

Please I want everyone to learn from my mistake, Try to verify every online transactions that involves money no matter how strong your acquaintances with the said person.

It is said that A smart man makes a mistake, learns from it, and never makes such a mistake again. But a wise man finds a smart man and learns from him how to avoid the mistake altogether.
Good Day to the Smart/Wise You.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76