You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bidbot Experiment: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

in #steemit5 years ago

Thank you for putting in the time and energy to do and write about your bidbot experiment.
I’m a bit ambivalent to these things in general and just kind of plug away at my own thing. But your report certainly makes me think about the nefarious effect bidbots have on quality posts.
It certainly seems that just not allowing posts that used bidbots to be on trending would be an effective start in evening the playing field and simultaneously showing the world a better face of what steemit is. Everyone I know thinks the trending page is pathetic and rarely goes there.
Imagine if it was where you could actually find trending quality posts, wow, that would actually be useful and would show any newbies a level to aspire too.
Thanks again, I enjoyed that laymen’s breakdown.

Sort:  

Thanks. I'm glad you found value in it. Like you, and a lot of other people, I think the trending page is a terrible PR tool for Steemit. It doesn't take a genius to figure out that someone is gaming the system if they're at the top of that page. People are leaving the platform over it. A lot of people have left the platform over it. I can't think of a better reason to change things based on that fact alone. And all it would take is changing the algorithm to reduce the weight of posts propped up by bidbot votes. They don't even have to exclude them from the page, just tweak the algorithm so that votes by bidbots count for less than votes by real human accounts, or manually curated accounts. That alone would re-order the page. No one actually things that the posts on that page are the best posts Steemit has to offer.

Again, thanks for stopping by.

Yeah, I don’t get the hold up in switching that one, there seems like several workable solutions, Ie. Your suggestion. I’ve also heard the idea of it bidbot’d posts heading to the promoted section... as that is what it is.. using bidbots to promote the content. Then trending could just be known to be bid bot free and instead allow us to head there to find great actually trending content.
Lol, dreaming of perfect solutions and imagining how something would or wouldn’t work is always hilarious to me. Cause eventual dreams hit reality and become something most could never foresee.

And you are welcome by the way. I see your effort and engagement all over here on steemit, I sincerely appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I see your effort and engagement all over here on steemit, I sincerely appreciate it!

I like to interact with the natives. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85