My Post is Loosing Money - Why?

in #steemit7 years ago

Yesterday I posted this awesome blog post and it quickly got 33 votes and $84. Since then I have seen it loose value every few hours and it is currently at $77.

Does anyone who why this is happening? I been getting more upvotes on it, with a current total of 44, but I am concerned that by the end of the week it will be worth very little.

I just want to understand what is going on and hopefully this will serve other people understand the changes in the value of their own posts.

Thank you!

@BrunoTreves

value.jpe

Sort:  

It's because the reward pool is going down, Idiots keep over voting and I hate to tell you but they will probably keep going down...

What do you mean by overvoting? How does that work? Thanks for explaining.

Well, you have a certain amount of steempower and once you use it all up your vote becomes worth less and less. It also subtracts from the reward pool (total amount thats paid out to everyone) so the lower the reward pool gets the less you get paid. Hope that helps, long story short be cautious of how much you upvote and who you upvote.

Does my steempower go down when I vote? I thought only my votingpower goes down when I vote....

No, your steempower does not go down when you vote. Each vote is weighted based upon your steempower, but if we just let people vote an unlimited amount then we'd have nothing but a race to see who could vote the most the fastest. That's silly. So, each tim you vote your voting power goes down slightly, meaning that your next vote today will have less weight (will award less money) than the one before. Over time your voting power slowly retores back to 100% if you stop voting. You can check your current voting power by going to steemd.com/@brunotreves.

Thanks @Sean-King you are my hero :)

i wish the creators of steemit.com just came out with it and did a video on how to use this platform. sick to death of seeing comments from different people saying different things. when mass adoption happens, we are going to have total newbies asking the same questions. it also makes it look like it's a scam if it's to complicated.

Fluctuations in the value of Steem. Payouts are an estimate until they are actually paid out.

I thought payouts where on SteemDollar and did not fluctuate with the price of Steem....? Also, is that number the total of SteemDollars or is it the total of SteemDollars plus SteemPower that the post will get?

It is both values together.
https://steemstats.com/#!/

Steem Backed Dollars doesn't fluctuate.
Steem Power* does.

  • All calculations may be slightly incorrect due to the fluctuations in prices.

All I know is, Steem was above $2 almost a week ago and then dropped to almost $1 a few days ago. My $110 payout dropped. Of course, you don't get the total payout, but just 75% of the payout.

Super clear. Thanks!

As far as I understand the value of steem is dropping.

I thought payouts where on SteemDollar and did not fluctuate with the price of Steem....? Also, is that number the total of SteemDollars or is it the total of SteemDollars plus SteemPower that the post will get?

I have no idea

I have a post start at 106 now it's at like 73. Not sure either.

There are some answers popping up on this threat. Check them out :)

Oh yes this thread is very helpful. Thanks for creating this post! It is helpful.

you are welcome :)

It's a combination of the value of STEEM dropping and the reward pool settling after the hardfork.

I thought payouts where on SteemDollar and did not fluctuate with the price of Steem....? Also, is that number the total of SteemDollars or is it the total of SteemDollars plus SteemPower that the post will get?

The payouts are in STEEM.

First, that was an excellent post! I upvoted you.

Second, the "potential payout" of a post is based on a variety of factors. One is the number and weight of upvotes. Two is the number and weight of "flags" (although I don't think anyone flagged that one). Three is the current value of Steem in the open market which changes every second. Last is some pretty complex math that takes into account all of the Steem available for distribution in a day and divides it between upvoted content.

I hope this helps to answer your question.

A good resource to see your potential payout for the week is http://steem.supply

Thanks, this was all very useful. I guess at the end of the day it doesn't matter where the price goes because all I can do is just focus on adding good content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58861.70
ETH 2499.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48