You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Large audience = instant Steemit success?

in #steemit8 years ago

Curation is not the "cure". Yes, I see what I did there. If you start out with the approximately 7 dollars Steemit gives you and you curate your little heart out (remember, there is a diminishing return on how many votes you give out versus your impact on said votes), you cannot compete with large SP holders. Their overall cut of the curation pot diminishes yours.

Net effect, if you curate at the most appropriate time, the 30 to 31 minute mark of a post (I am sure there is a way to refute that by posting a minute or two earlier, although it does cut into your curation rewards), your efforts of waiting can be taken away by the power of one whale. You can verify this effect by looking at post voters on Steemstats.

I am not saying it cannot be done over the long haul, but suggesting curation is the answer is not entirely accurate. Not to be one to point something out that I feel is wrong and flee. I posit a better solution. Yes, continue to curate those posts you feel are a good gamble and support your favorite authors. Also, try to comment on those posts, such as this comment. That in itself has gained me much more SP (which is minimal) than any of my own posts or curation effects. And, try to provide some content anyway. In the long run, you will get better (I have improved immensely over three articles) and I have found what I appreciate in my favorite author's posts as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83