Why I have decided to return to Steemit after nearly 10 months

in #steemit7 years ago

So I feel my I have to outline my return to Steemit. And if you're wondering "who the hell is this guy", don't worry, it doesn't matter. Actually I'm not returning to Steemit because of the hardfork, to self promote, or even to make money. Actually I'm not interested in any of these things. I've come back to Steemit, because I have felt compelled to break my silence on things that are really bothering me, and this is the best platform to do it.

When I initially joined Steemit very early into it's lifespan, I came here to make money. But as a very opinionated guy with interest outside of the crypto space, I wanted to talk about what was on my mind. But I soon noticed that only certain post got upvoted or made money. And I really didn't feel I should make all of my post promote steemit, so I left the platform, and left my password on a computer that eventually crashed, forcing me to create a new account.

The world is in a state of confusion right now. I have gone to democrat forums, I've gone to republican forums. I've gone to black nationalist forums and I've gone to black nationalist forums. All I see around me are people who mostly want the same things, but have been balkanized by what seems to be a blatant attempt at divide and conquer. And there doesn't seem to be anybody willing to call it like they see it. Instead they would prefer to put all the blame on the "left" instead of looking at the politicians who are using every strategy in the world to divide us.

After searching tirelessly for bloggers who could call this out. I was not very satisfied in my search. Sure some bloggers and personalities may kind of lightly allude to this phenomena. But no one was committed to making it their entire platform. After libertarians decided to stay blissfully silent after the Castile shooting, I could no longer contain myself. I had to break my silence. And Steemit may be the best platform for it.

I really want to talk about the psychology of partisanship, and learn about the appeals of partisanship. And maybe no one talks about this, because no one cares. But if I can reach 1 or 2 people who do care, I know Steemit will be the platform for it.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit back again !!!
Following ! Hope you Follow too @mohit
Have a good day :)

Thanks I will follow

Congratulations @brandonh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome back brandonh. May you live long and prosper.

Welcome back home the prodigal son. We love it that you are returning to us after this long time. Although you could have made a greater impact by stayinf earlier on. Welcome all the same. Continue what you were doing earlier and lets all make steemit a better place.

Great blog! Check out my new post @the.dajboz follow me! :)

welcome again to steemit
all the best

Welcome back!

Hey @brandonh. Welcome back to steemit. I only just joined recently.
I completely agree with you. Nobody talks about the issues that matter. And this issue is one of the important ones. I don't know who or what divides us, but I'd be happy to hear more from you.

All the best, @tundraxd

I think people like being part of a pack. Whatever term and label they think suits them best, whether that be a political party, religion, or whatever. Being part of a pack helps them to feel comfort with their convictions, knowing that others are just like them. But you are right, it is divide and conquer. All of these things further seperate humanity instead of push us together.

I'm returned after 3 months coincidentally , with the wallet slightly raised! I don't know how...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05