Finding Steemit in Manila

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Overlooking the Manila City skyline from the 16th floor of my rented Condo in Mandaluyong just east of central Manila, I reflected on the current state of my 4 week holiday in Manila. This was now the beginning of week 3 and events had taken an unexpected turn. My girlfriend had just left me, she decided not to stay with me for the full 4 weeks and insisted i book her a flight back to Iligan City, her home town in the south of the Philippines. So what now! Alone here and still 2 weeks left of the holiday.
So i had time on my hands, good that i brought with me my laptop. Ok i thought apart from getting out and about and exploring Manila, I have time now to spend researching and keeping up to date with whats going on in the world through the alternative media on the internet.
I found Steemit while browsing through my you tube subscriptions. This excited me as i could see the potential for this social media platform being very popular.
I've never blogged before, this is my first ever and yes it's short but it's a start.
I encourage all newbies that never blogged before to give Steemit a go

Sort:  

So what happened next?

Exelente post, excellent platform steemit I am really excited and I have dedicated much of my time in trying to grow in this community, a vote may not cost you anything but for me it means a lot, you follow me I tell you.
Please comment


The view from the Balcony of my rented Condo overlooking Manila Makati area

The planned purchase of a Condo in Manila for me and my now ex girlfriend to live in has been shelved. I went back to Germany, (where my home is) after the holiday there and am now finishing the renovation of my house here. Planning to return to the Philippines later this year. Possibly gonna still buy a Condo there at the Mall of Asia. It's a massive project there which is scheduled to be finished 2020 and if successful will rival Las Vegas and Macau as International playgrounds for gaming, entertainment, shopping and vacationing. Condo price is around 3,300,000 pesos about $70,000 that's for a 27 sq mtr with balcony over looking pool and amenities. due to be finished late 2017. Yes it's tempting to go for it just not 100% sure right now. Still mulling it over.
Manila is a fascinating place, big, busy and over populated with big gap between poor and the better off. And the traffic jams are the worst i've ever experienced.
The ongoing project at Manila Bay The Mall of Asia, when finished and if successful will generate jobs and boost the economy there. Good for all hopefully!

good to know that Manila will be your second home, Even Manila is too crowded there are lots of opportunities there, plus the face of fascination in our modern days, modern people give also the new color to the Capital City

I thought foreigners could not own property or businesses in the Philippines, did the rules change ?

Foreigners can not own more than 49% of land or a house the other 51% must be owned by a Filipino. However the law there is different for Condos. Which means Foreigners can buy outright ownership 100% on a Condo

There are often plans and contracts that are designed to help people get around these obstacles but you need to find someone else to work with. That's interesting that it doesn't apply to Condos.

very interesting, thanks for the precision !

That's very interesting information. Which area in Germany are you from? I live now in Ontario, Canada but grew up in the very south of Germany.

apologies for late reply steemuwe. i originally come from London and now live in Steinen Germany about 20km from the Swiss border

I didn’t know this. I have a friend in Thailand, who couldn’t own anything their as a foreigner, but that was back in 2003.

Thanks for the update. A $70K condo might be good just as an investment if Manila is an upcoming place - the other thing is (not sure about the laws there) but could maybe buy and rent it out. That way you could keep it, get an income from it and then hopefully (if you don't need it yourself) you could sell it in a few years for a good profit. My brother did that with a small flat in London when he moved to Canada (I know it's a little different) but the principle is similar.

Yes i agree with you, that's what i got in mind like a long term investment to rent out.

Hi @bobbylee
I live in Hawaii and I have always thought of having a condo in Manila for vacations.
Did you ever buy this place? Did the development work out?

Thanks,
@shortsegments

Nice

just curious about why you wrote "😬😬😬" ....
I work with alot of people in the Philippines, and am starting to fall in love with the country (ok, mostly the ladies... lol, but also the rising opportunities you guys are starting to get, there's a reason why there are reports saying the Philippines have a fast growing economy ! ) ... that emoticon points to you not liking it (your new president is kind of scary to be honest) ... :(

that's all mate, i'm curious :)

(sorry I reply on this thread, the previous one no longer allows replies)

Yes!!!!!!! your the man!!!!!!!! I never blogged before either lol. Loving it!!!!!!!!!!!!! The Moon Baby!!!!!!!!

Looks like you're gonna need to start blogging here more often! Instead of getting Likes on Facebook, Retweets on Twitter, and Upvotes on Reddit, how bout some Upvotes AND Steem baby!?

it is an ultimate act of leadership to destroy culture when it is viewed as dysfunctional !
‪fb‬ need to be ‪decrown‬ !

enter image description here

Also you should try to include the pictures in the post to begin with so we can see a preview of the photos and perhaps get more views and votes?

How do you do this??? I want to place some drawings up to go with my stories but I'll be stuffed if I know how!!

Hey there,

If you can take screenshots or pictures of your drawings, save them then send them to yourself via email. Once you have the files, upload them to an image uploader. You can then use https://postimage.org/ to upload your images or something like that. Once it is uploaded, simply take the Direct Link and enter it into your post and the image should automatically populate. I hope that makes sense and good luck.

Thank you my friend. I had never heard of an image uploader so I was rooted from the start. I'll let you know how I'm doing. Cheers.

Really interesting !

Yes it really is!

Loading...

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @vacation, @local, and @wedding
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06