Is it worth using the bid bots to get upvotes?

in #steemit7 years ago

Is it worth using the bid bots to get upvotes?

This is a question I have been asking myself on and off. Is it really worth bidding on an upvote from a bot? Is it profitable?


The answer isn't a straight-forward "yes" or "no." It depends what you're wanting to get out of the upvote. There are three things the bid bots can do for you; turn your SBD into an upvote to get your post reward up to a greater value, give you a few extra points towards your reputation score, and if you get an upvote early enough, the possibility of getting your post into the hot list, which gives you greater exposure and the possibility of more upvotes.


The Money



If you're only after monetary profit, then in many cases the bid bots aren't going to make you much, and you could even end up getting less value than you put in. You have to time you bid to be close to, and before the upvote of the bot your going to use, and rely on the bot not being oversubscribed (having a greater total bid value than 75% of the upvote value). If you can get the timing right, you can make a healthy profit out of the bots.

Some people recommend bidding on an upvote for one of your posts which is 6 days old, so you get the return on your investment sooner, and can then bid again on your next oldest post. This can make you good returns, but remember half of your post's reward is paid in Steem Power, so you can't rely solely on bots to make you money. You'll eventually run out of SBD, or only be able to bid smaller and smaller amounts.

If you want to time your bids, and keep track of when some of the more popular bots are upvoting, and their profitablility, go to this website, designed by @yabapmatt - https://s3.amazonaws.com/yabapmatt/bottracker/bottracker.html
Here you will find a list of popular upvote bots, with their current upvote value, total bid value, max profitable bid (based on 75% reward value), and time left before next round of upvotes.


Screenshot taken from website mentioned above.


The Rep

Most people see the reputation score as just a status symbol. It's quite easy to boos your reputation, juts by getting bots to vote for you. A higher reputation score doesn't necessarily mean you'll get more rewards on your posts, or gain more followers. The jury is still out on whether your rep score has much of an effect on anything, although it is nice to have a big number next to your name. You're not going to be a rockstar just because you have a high rep...

To gain reputation points, you need others with a greater reputation to upvote your post. A lot of the bots have a pretty average reputation score, and may not add much value to your own.


The Exposure

Using a bid bot can get you you time in the spotlight. Once you're there, what you have to show comes into the equation.If you're on the hot list, and your post is not up to a good standard, it will fall like a stone down the list, and you would have wasted an opportunity to gain some extra followers and repeat voters.


If you time your post to coincide with a big bid bot vote, you can get you post high on the hot list, and gain some exposure there. Brand new posts high on the hot list, with a few $ already in the rewards will gain you some exposure. Getting a bid bot vote very early also maximizes the profit you stand to make from your bought vote. The upvotes you get after that will depend on your post quality, and your use of appropriate tags.


The conclusion

If you use the tools you have at your disposal wisely, there is a bit of profit to be made by using the bid bots. It requires you to bo on your game and know when the timing is right. But a junk post won't make you much more than the rewards you are buying from the bots.

There is no substitute for quality



The most reliable way to make good rewards from your posts is to write great content. Don't just drop a picture and expect it to make mega bucks, unless you've got a lot of very powerful friends upvoting your trash. Add some value to your post by writing a decent backstory. You'll gain more upvotes, and followers, which will translate into bigger rewards over time. Use the bots to gain some rewards, but there is no substitute for good quality for long term gains.

Thanks for taking the time to read my thoughts on the bid or buy bots. Do I use them? Yes I do, but I keep an eye out and try to make sure I'm going to get at least my upvote money back with some profit on top. I don't always get it right, but I'm still slightly up at the moment :)



Team Australia and Team South Africa banners by @bearone

Sort:  

I'm a manual curator and I don't upvote anything that has bots on it. I upvote in the first 25 minutes to 2 days and promote what I upvote on steemit and on my other social media.

I use @minnowbooster on my 6 day old posts if they have a low payout for these reasons:

  • to give a bigger reward to the people who upvoted me so maybe they will come back. I also upvote good comments on my posts for that reason.
  • to give me a bigger payout so I don't feel discouraged.
  • to recycle some of my sbd into sp easily. Growing sp is my current steemit goal.

I do this on day 6 because it does not sit there looking spammy/scammy in those first 5 days. I know of many manual curators who do not vote on bot posts. This is because we do not find as high quality of posts on bot-driven posts and because we do not make as much rewards by voting on them.

We do much better finding something 35 minutes old with $1 on it and pushing it to $20-$40 with real voters. I'm not sure why that happens but it's true. The posts with 150 tiny votes do not payout as well.

bots - not recommended by me - a new and not that successful steemer so take that as you will :)

You make some good points, and I agree the comments do get a bit untidy with the bots. Upvoting valid non-bot comments gets the humans up top though, which I try to do if my voting power allows it.

I'm still experimenting with the bots to see how an early or late bot vote affects other votes. Like you say, and early bot vote may result in some people moving on without voting, regardless of the quality of the post, which is a pity. I find I get the best results by beating the bots to a post, but not voting too early.Some won't mind giving an upvote regardless of there being a bot vote already. We're all trying to find what best suits us, and that's great :)

hi @fitinfun can you please help me spread the message. we are arranging free blockchain development classes (and ofcourse you are invited too), please upvote / resteem this? thank you
https://steemit.com/adnan/@a381/free-blockchain-development-classes-through-google-classroom

Yeah. I used the bitbots about three times on mine but then just avoided them for the last few months; the effort it took to track what they voted at and when was more time than what they were worth in the vote.

Upvoted! also visit my blog @affan24

This post has received a 6.48 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @bmj. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 2.66 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @bmj. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

A great post and very informative,I seldom use bots, I may now and a again doa couple but them forget all about them to be honest rather than any calculated plan

Thanks mate. I'm still trying to work out if it's worth the trouble. I'm thinking "no" at the moment.

I am leaning towards no as well

Me too. I sometimes use them to give someone else a 'pleasant surprise' though. 🦋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88