Sort:  

I like the ideas of you @blueorgy but all sites you created doesn't work for some reasons, no offense.. I am her since 3 houres trying to get a profile picture - 1000x1000px png, less than 1mb big and it doesn't work.. I am frustrated now about steemit :-(

EDIT: Yeyy I finally got it. PNG, 1000x1000 px, transparent background (you can cut it out with gimp that you can toggle to night mode), at last postimage.org works - i used the direct link. Upload without changing settings. thanks @primus for the great link!

Have you tried the new kid on the block? www.steempix.com

http://steemimg.com is the way to go. Plus after 24 hours, your images are one with the blockchain - immutable at that point. (no external image links remain).

"Plus after 24 hours, your images are one with the blockchain - immutable at that point." - How does this work on a technical level?

right click on an image after it's been up for 24 hours and you'll see it is pulled from a steemit controlled server instead of where it was originally posted.

There's a difference between a steemit controlled server and the blockchain itself though, right? My main question is - do the images actually get stored in the blockchain?

Image is eventually a binary data, thus you can take the bites, encode them to base64 text for example, and put on block chain.
Like this you can put anything on the blockchain which can be serialized to bits.

I created an account on http://steemimg.com/ but when I hit 'start uploading' nothing happens :(

Same here. The site is quietly throwing a JavaScript error that can be seen in a debugger. It seems we both missed an an announcement from 10 months ago that the service was getting too expensive to run, and uploading was turned off.

https://steemit.com/steemimg/@blueorgy/steemimg-will-be-down-for-major-server-migration-yes-again

steemimg.com is still unable to upload images. This is really concerning for now there are so many Steeit related services, and I wonder how many of them will survice.
Also, https://ipfs.pics/ seems to be down ...
Even a child knows that hosting data takes an enourmous amount of processing and storaging ,, it is weird these claims that those services are expensive to run

The Steemit site allows you to directly host image content now, so there is no need for an external image hosting service as there once was.

Except for the profile image and cover image, which needs an external URL...

My profile avatar photo is hosted and uploaded first to a post on Steemit.com, on Steem.io. First, I upload a photo to a post. Second, I copy and paste the link to that photo in that post to my settings to my profile avatar loader.

Hi @rsarvas, I see you have mentioned me.
This is automatic response so that I may respond to your mention later.

Thanks for the comment and link @rsarvas! :)

I'm using https://imgsafe.org to host my profile picture. But contrary to what they say I found no way of deleting an image from their server. Which really sucks! :(

Fortunately you can upload images directly on posts now. I suppose it's hosted on servers owned by Steemit...

I just found some photos from my earlier posts gone.. those of which i directly uploaded onto the post thinking it gets stores onto their steemit servers.. Im still not sure what the best way is..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77