User experience part 2: Steempeak

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 20180904 at 21.47.03.png

Today I would like to review Steempeak as a part of my discovery of different platforms on the Steem blockchain. I found Steempeak last week by mistake but immediately I was drawn in by the professional interface that is very slick and stylish. It is by far and away the best platform I have encountered so far. I really really like it. I have been on most other platforms and in most cases it is like comparing Bebo to Facebook. Seriously. This is the bee's knees! Below are a few of the features that I like.

Light or Dark

The first little small adjustment I made was to change it to night mode. Ok lets go to settings and change it. I prefer dark or nightmode but I like the white above also.

Screen Shot 20180904 at 21.48.24.png

Slick Interface

Okay thats better. So if you take a look at the platform you have your normal feeds. You can have your feed in the normal mode or you can display your feed in icon mode which I find great because you can upvote content all at once and you don't have to wait. The upvotes go into a pending icon on top which is great so you don't have to wait to ensure the whirl turns into an upvote. You also have a load more information available such as your upvote value and 100% clock. You also can do the same with other Steemians and check how much their vote is worth etc. You have your BFF's tab on the right hand side just like Steemplus. If you are a chocolate bar and want to eat yourself like I do you can also view your blogs on icon mode. I love having a little gander at this. Nom nom nom nom nom

Screen Shot 20180904 at 21.50.07.png

Recommended posts with Resteems hidden. I can upvote all these posts without going into them.

Screen Shot 20180904 at 22.06.56.png
My own blogs in Icon view. That accidental whale is a popular one!

text11.png

Writing Posts

This is what separates the men from the boys or the women from the girls. The preview is to the right so while you are typing it is previewing at the same time. Also the markdown buttons are alot more user friendly with adding photos and headings. More like word than HTML stone age brackets.

Screen Shot 20180904 at 22.00.01.png

Isn't that just a work of art!! Love it. No more scrolling up and down to fix spelling mistakes.

text11.png

Notification Tab.

I really like this also. It tells you about comments , mentions , upvotes and when a curation has come through. Really helpful keeping track of all ye'all.

Screen Shot 20180904 at 22.26.53.png

text11.png

Dashboard

For those of you who love a good pie chart this one is for you. Steempeak covers all the basis and checks out how you are doing on the platform. By all accounts not so good apparently!!😭 But you get what it's used for.

Screen Shot 20180904 at 22.20.51.png

Screen Shot 20180904 at 22.18.36.png

text11.png

Searchbar

You know when you don't know the Steemians name but maybe know the first few letters. This searchbar gives you the profile photos in an instant while typing.

Screen Shot 20180904 at 22.24.01.png

In Summary

Best platform by a country mile. Sign up . It really is that good. Why settle for anything less if this is free to use. Just go onto the website www.steempeak.com and sign up. So there you have it @janton. I did the review after all your moaning at me!! I won't rest until @ginnyannette tries it out! Why settle for less if you can have more is what I say. Congratulations to the Steempeak team for nailing this site. I may have left out lots of little features but as a noob these are the features that stand out to me the most and i would like to hear about any other great little features to it

Cheers for Reading.
Slainte
Blanchy

SB_new.png

Sort:  

I have tried it out earlier this week, and I must say I'm very pleased with the platform. There are a few things that were bothering me (I don't remember what they were - I should write them down next time), but in general, it's like a more modern version of SteemIt.

@simplymike I agree. @bengy had two criticisms above . I love writing posts on it because the preview is beside you instead of underneath. Replying to a comment is easier also if the conversations are lengthy. It’s my favourite so far anyway. Is there any you use that would rival it? Still new to Steemit and would appreciate learning what other Steemians use

No, I'm so used to SteemIt that I even use it on my phone (I keep forgetting I might just as well use one of the existing apps). I have the SteemPlus extension installed, so on SteemIt my preview is already next to my post.
What holds me back from using Steempeak is time. Last week I tried it and lost so much time trying to find my way around. Once I have a little time to spare, I'm going to spend it to figure it all out

Yeah I use steemplus also but my preview doesn't show in mie for some reason. You should try esteem or partiko with the mobile. Partiko is great for commenting and reading notifications on the phone. Esteem is good too but writing posts are tedious on the phone

Right, I forgot: when I'm reading Ginabot messages, I often use Partiko, although I just noticed it doesn't jump to the comment, but shows the full post instead.

Since I'm still recovering from surgeries earlier this year, I use my phone for SteemIt in like 85% of the time. I hate it, because it slows down my typing speed a lot, and I'm suffering from the fat fingers syndrome, resulting in loads of typing errors. I'll be so happy if I can use my laptop full time again...

Another dark mode fan! Woohoo!

I have a couple of little UI gripes, but other than those it is a decent experience that is much better than Steemit.

Opening a reply, should bring you to the a cursor in the reply box, ready to type... But it doesn't.

I also miss the drop down list of followed accounts when sending a wallet transfer.

I never even copped the wallet . Yeah the cursor in the reply box is badly needed but should be easily fixable

Yeah, I hope they fix that soon! It is really quite annoying and you interact with that field quite a bit!

you are a guy that looks like he is in the know. What platforms skim a little bit of steem off you when you use their platform

All of the ones that offer posting will take a little cut (between 5-15%), although Steempeak is optional (you can turn on or off the beneficiary). However, keep in mind that the developers do need to be supported in their jobs, and also for the hosting of servers and all of that overhead!

Until now, I used to think only apps are built to have numerous fascinating features like that.
Anyways, thanks for sharing the rest of the information. This very part is more enlightening and alluring.

Hi @blanchy. You first get me on SteemPlus and now SteemPeak. I must admit it does look a little better than the other one you got me on. maybe i will just use all 4 now and do a draft on each. Haven't worked that bit out yet lol. I want to start working ahead so I have a few days in the stash.
Nice site and will look at the weekend in case you find something better you mad leprechaun.

😂😂😂!! Telling you mate . This steempeak is the business. Have steemplus open to keep an eye on new posts and then curate on steempeak. It’s brilliant. The side view curating is the best. Now put your biltong down , make sure there’s no lions around and start writing !

Have you had any votes from steem-ua yet? They are beaut's. Have got 2 posts in the stash already been writing and rubbing out all evening lol.

Nothing yet. I' m a lowly 25 steem delegate. Il be got to last. Il give them a chance to find their feet as well.

First one was 47c and ranking has grown since yesterday and now 65 c. pretty cool really.

Hi Blanchy. You just reminded me I need to make use of other interfaces more

@gabriel90sson . Try this one out . It’s the best so far

Congratulations @blanchy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks for sharing your experience!
Peace and love!

Thanks for reading it ! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72