Social Media 101: A Visual Steemit Lesson on Twitter engagement, the official @steemit account in the Crypto space, and who runs it. Steemit 101.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


I wrote an article the other night and shared it on the Twitter as I often do nowadays. I tagged the @steemit official account with it and they shared it a little later that night. I went to bed.

When I woke up the next day, it had garnered 29 RT overnight (retweets) and I gained more followers overnight than usual, on my posts, likely about 6-8 more than usual.

I enlarged this as a visual lesson so anyone not really using Twitter etc to share your posts can literally see the RT and likes and engagement this post garnered.

Many of us see posts on Twitter or on here, linking back to Steemit and twitter from this account or in general and here is some info about those people.


Who runs the official @steemit Twitter account?



Randy Hilarski ( @hilarski ) and his wife Anabel ( @AnaHilarski ) have been running this account for @steemit and the founders @ned and @dan @dantheman since the summer of 2016 when it (the twitter account) officially launched.

I was in touch a lot with Randy then, so I remember it well, I was a baby Steemer having joined in August.

Anabel and Randy are honestly online Social Media marketing wizards. I have learned a lot from them. They run a company called 200 Social that manages your branding and SM accounts if you do not have time to do it.


I regularly receive messages from people asking about social media tips and frankly, I refer them back to Ana and Randy, and all their resources to look at, which are plentiful.

I refer people to specific blog posts by Ana and Randy and directly to their social media accounts, some of which I will list below so you can learn and follow them also. I will list the basic ones.... they really have a lot of them LOL.


Ana and Randy are always saying, along with others, people are not using the social media sites enough to promote their content and using the links and backlinks properly or enough, to make a solid impact. I would have to agree.

In fact, I had another chat with Randy about this recently, knowing he had said similar things publicly on this again recently. Here is what he said:

"If more Steemit users learned how to Tweet we can really improve the amount of content indexed on Google and clicks from Twitter."


My advice today:

  • Get on Twitter if you are not -- Pick a great user name you will be happy with.

  • I am https://twitter.com/BarryDutton on there

  • Follow Randy and Ana on Steemit if you are not. Their account links for Steemit here are above.

  • Follow their Twitter accounts if you are not:

  • https://twitter.com/AnabellHilarski

  • https://twitter.com/RandyHilarski

  • https://twitter.com/200SocialMedia

  • Follow the official Twitter account for Steemit - https://twitter.com/Steemit

  • Use a link shortening service like https://app.bitly.com - and implement it into all your posts. I asked @thecryptofiend one day which one he used and I never looked back with this advice. He is smart and VERY helpful.

  • On your next post, tag the @steemit account in your tweet. Use 3 or 4 great hashtags always in your tweets and other social media. Always.

  • Take that tweet, click on it, paste that link BACK here into your Steemit post you made.

  • Watch the Hilarski's posts, for tips and tricks, they put them out regularly.

  • Ana does a lot of her work/posts in Spanish so if you are or know someone that needs things done in Spanish, she is the BEST person I know to help or learn from.

  • GO THROUGH THEIR OLD BLOG POSTS FOR SOCIAL MEDIA TIPS! This is exactly where I learned things from and where I send people! The resources are there for us to use!


- Here is a prime example from one of their informative blog posts from 3 months ago when they started putting out free tips and tricks for everyone to learn

- https://steemit.com/steemit/@hilarski/social-media-tip-1-from-usd200-social


Do your best. We are not all gifted in the same areas of life or interests, but if you can work at the areas you need to a bit, you will be encouraged.

We are all in this together so we should support one another.

Thanks for reading. Hope this helps. That is why I do most of my posts, to try to inform and help people somehow.






If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

Monero - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL


Sorry if I cannot get to replies right away.


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Cool post. I've been looking at doing what you say in this post for a while now. I will.

I try to keep things simple most of the time, this stuff works.

I am glad for your feedback today and I think the @hilarski's and Steemit founders like @ned and @dan @dantheman will be glad to hear it too.

Thanks for commenting!

Excellent work dear friend @barrydutton very good information, thanks for sharing
Reesteemit the post post to help spread

Awesome buddy! TY so much.

-- and to provide some more evidence of this.... THIS blog post you are reading about this topic, was liked/shared/RT by the @hilarski's today and on their 200Social twitter account.

2 hours later - it had 60 Retweets. Here is their tweet on THIS blog post. Ah, the circle of life hahaha


https://twitter.com/200SocialMedia/status/833766737044709378

200SocialMedia $200 Social tweeted @ 20 Feb 2017 - 19:54 UTC

#SocialMedia 101: A Visual @Steemit Lesson on Twitter engagement
@BarryDutton

steemit.com/steemit/@barry… / https://t.co/VuX9QGMo7b
https://t.co/YwPU0v2NcJ

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Man, 499 followers!!!

I can almost see another jumping on board after this post!

I gained one, lost one, gained one, lost one about 3x in the last 2 days, I really noticed that a few times. For a few brief mins today, I actually had 500 LOL..

The struggle is real to hold 500. Sounds like Bitcoin awhile back hahahaha

Thanks for stopping in. I did want you to see this post and how I ended it also.

BarryDutton Barry Dutton tweeted @ 20 Feb 2017 - 19:45 UTC

#SocialMedia Tips 2 help in #Life & #Steemit. Learn fr. @RandyHilarski @AnabellHilarski @200SocialMedia @Steemit bit.ly/2l0Lozy

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thank you for the mention @BarryDutton! Keep up the good work. Leveraging other social media channels is one of the paths to success on Steemit.

I've learned from you guys. Paying it forward. Thanks Randy and Ana.

Some practical stuff in here that makes sense, hope it helps some people. Nice hearing from you as always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82