You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Steemverify! Anonymous, Secure, Badge-Based Verification Service Now Available!!

in #steemit8 years ago

I feel like an appropriate solution is not one that will appoint gatekeepers to become the authority on the legitimacy of an account. This is a well intended effort, but I am quite apprehensive...

Sort:  

This service is not to replace good judgement.

Yet, a seal-of-approval from trusted community members can make the difference between healthy pseudo-anonymous verification process and a witch hunt. Keeping a database of verified users, either on the block chain or off will curtail repeated (and aggressive) requests for verification.

I don't think it has no merit.... I just think that it doesn't solve the underlying problem. In fact, it creates a singular point of failure, rather than a more transparent solution.

I can agree it doesn't solve an underlying problem. I think it offers something people can show though.... like recognition-at-a-glance credentials.

I see it as an available avenue and option, one not required by any means, but if it could be helpful to some... it could be nice to have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48