Thoughts on the future of Steemit, and other rambling.

in #steemit5 years ago

future.jpg

Today's inspiration.

So, I was scrolling through my feed, and I happened across @pinoy's post, "Upvoting Authors with Good Content 09/25/2018". In that post, the first post mentioned was one by @nyxulric. It's very good! It's about an app called "BitSong" you can read it here.

Now, before I go any further, I want to make it clear, I'm more mechanically inclined, and the majority of my skills fall in that category. I love tech, but my skills and knowledge in that department are barely above average. I have no clue how the back end of a lot of things work. That's probably why it fascinates me so much. But anyway...

Like I've said before, I honestly believe Steemit Has the potential to be a decentralized mecca (that might be a terrible analogy, but it's the best I got.) I've had that thought rolling around in the back of my head for a week or two. After reading about BitSong, It got me thinking, other folks are trying on other blockchains, how can we get there on Steem and do it better?

I'm fairly certain it's already occurred to other folks, but a good way to do that is to mimic and improve already popular services along with new ones. Dtube is a good example of that, and I think it's done a pretty good job of mimicking YouTube, plus, it's had some really good upgrades since I first started watching videos on there!

What I thought I might do is start a series, take a look at some services I like and use. Talk about what I like about them, what I don't like, and throw some ideas around on mimicking them here. My hope is, that will start some constructive conversation, and someone with the means and the skills can pick up the idea and run with it with all that input from myself and the rest of the community in mind. Or, if someone already has a similar project going, maybe this will give them some ideas on how to improve it.

I'll try to get the first one out soon. I have a few ideas on where to start. What are some services you would like to see on the Steemit blockchain? Drop a comment and let me know! We'll start a conversation about it and show there is some demand.

Updates:

I will update this post with links to the other posts in the series as I write them. So, Bookmark this post if you don't want to miss any!

Sort:  

@appalachain, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73