You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hate Speech on Steemit. No recourse?

in #steemit7 years ago

I found this post to be delusional tinfoil hat conspiracy drivel, supported by a blog they called an article, but not hate speech. I save my flags for posts inciting violence. I will defend everyone's right to be a total asshole, even if I won't defend their choice to do so. I would rather have it out in the open, because at least it can be ridiculed, at most we might engage in a rational discourse and change someone's mind. Call me idealistic or naive, perhaps.
It's a slippery slope I'd rather not even be on. If we ban certain points of view, no matter how repugnant, 1) Who makes us the arbiters? Why is our point of view the correct one? 2) What prevents whoever the arbiter is from banning our point of view? The simplest solution is that nobody should wield such power. I agree with the Witness, I'm sorry to say. And I think responding to the post directly is the correct approach.

Sort:  

We disagree, which I suspect is a result of our outlook on what constitutes hate speech. And incitement of violence. This is an indirect version of exactly that. It's a dog whistle to violence.

You're probably from the same marxist crowd that deems any conservative view as hate speech. Controlling speech is nothing more than thought control. You make the assumption that people are sooooo feeble that if they read hate speech, they will just take it as gospel and go out and start beating gays and trans people. Then again, you are a feminist, so you already infantalize women, and call out any woman that does not subscribe to your movement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63478.31
ETH 2604.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83