Forgotten wallet from last May gives a nice suprise.

in #steemit6 years ago

Since joining steemit I've found it to be a life saver for a family that is always at the 'Just about getting by' level. It would be nice if I could power everything into building my account but in life things go wrong so I've had to use my steemit earnings to get us by.
Last May I started to work out how to trade and get money into my bank to support my family and so I set up a wallet, transferred a bit of bitcoin in after trading it and then transferred it out to my exchange to cash into UK £.
It was later I worked out I could avoid using the wallet and cut out on transfer fees and move my bitcoin straight to the exchange so the wallet quickly became forgotten and the tiny amount of bitcoin there was forgotten with it.
At the time it was pennies but since May 2017 the price of bitcoin has gone up some so when I just found the bookmark to my wallet I went to have a look at what it was.
Now not only had the bitcoin gone up in value but I've also got some bitcoin cash there I didn't even know about. The amounts are not life changing, may pay for a meal for me and Mrs Alienbutt but any money found laying around is a bonus.
As for my earnings from steemit, it has paid for a new bathroom, got us a new boiler to fix the central heating in the house and went a long way to pay for Christmas and covered a few other things that have gone wrong.

So here is a look at how steemit has helped out the Alienbutt household.

IMG_2280.JPG

new shower and bathroom.
(work still in process.)

IMG_2093.JPG

A wendy shed for the girls to play in during the summer. (Promised for many years.)

IMG_1603.JPG

A new boiler at the start of winter after the old one packed up. (This is the old one with the error code that says it knackered.)

IMG_2062.JPG

Plus repairs for the car, garden decking, washing machine and other things.

Steemit is great so just stick at it and keep posting and upvoting, I probably won't make you rich but could pay for the odd meal out with the family which is better than not doing anything.
Also the pennies you earn today from your posts could be worth a lot more this time next year...

or not, the markets are always changing but seem to be going up long term.

Sort:  

Every little bit helps. Steemit is good for helping ut with the extra expenses that crop u now and then. Just keep plodding along. That's what I am doing...

I'm so glad you've been able to at least get some projects done that needed doing with your Steemit - good for you. It helped me with a couple of things this year too, but as you say, we're not at the point of retiring on it .... yet.

Steemit is the perfect platform for making money. A useful social media solution @alienbutt

Could you possibly let me know of how you went about this please? I have no plans on withdrawing steem just yet but would like to know the methods on how to do so... I have been informed of coinbase but i have also been informed about its fee's.

All the sites have fees but I use Bittrex as my exchange to sell steem and SBD and then local bitcoin to trade bitcoin for money via bank transfer (you need online banking to check your account has been credited before releasing funds so I've found it a safe way to trade.). It takes a bit of getting used to once you set up your accounts but there should be posts here on steemit that give step by step guides to get money out.

Thank You, I will wait until the value rises a little it's took a big hammering this last month... had a look at yearly stats and it's the same pattern year on year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87