You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Truths and Myths of Steemit: The Value of Following Thousands of People...

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi everybody, hi @denmarkguy,
Thanks for publishing this interesting article.
Your post reassures me, as it's saying everything I feel is happening.

I'm on Steemit since 8 days now, trying to produce quality content each day and commenting / upvoting other quality content (as much as I can, maybe 2 to 5 posts / comments a day as I don't have time for much more). But it's really hard doing it all on natural growth. I went to 200 VESTS to 1400 thanks to some "whales" (0.1$ upvotes) but who unfortunately didn't leave comments. But It feels like I'm still so far away from having enough SP to give 0.01$ upvotes and finally feel like my votes are having an impact when upvoting posts and by that, authors I want to support.

I also made 3 or 4 real connections with other people, and we are now, reading, commenting and upvoting each other's posts (not with an explicitly stated rule but with each of them I know I won't lose my time reading their posts, I have a big chance to like their content and hence finishing by commenting and upvoting it). We're not a "club", I don't see these people doing the same between them.

I was originally embarking for a 3-month minimum journey at this rate, but you convinced me to prolong it to at least 6 months. I'm hoping it will accelerate if I continue to provide good content.

And to answer your questions at the end of your post : I knew it was going to be long and difficult to get a little base of "real" followers. What I didn't expect was the systematic use of upvote bots by the majority of "big" authors and all the fuss about curation strategy. Even genuinely upvoting good content becomes an economical decision.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65853.52
ETH 2697.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86