It's my birthday today! And here's my gift to Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago

taken at a super chill place in Chiang Mai. no idea what that gigantic toy is, but neato!

I wrote this to my email list last night, while sort of drunk and here I am to deliver to my beloved Steemians. No, this isn't the gift. Gifts are below:

I am still here, and so are you.

Every year on my birthday and hence, my blog's birthday, I say the same things.

"I will work harder."

"I will achieve all my goals by the month of XXX."

"I will make $XXX by then."

"I will sort out all my emotional issues."

And so on.

Every year, without fail, I say the same things. It sounds kind of sad considering so many successful people out there seemingly set their resolutions early, gain their epiphanies, act on them and proceed to become really successful.

Yet, I say the same things every year.

I am just trying. I struggle. I work hard. I still struggle. I still make mistakes, lots of them. I still have my emotional struggles, some of which have been around for more than a decade.

But I've learnt a lot. I'm still learning. 

And I love it.

For whoever that still feels you're struggling out there: I am still here, and so are you.

Look at you! All alive and shit!

You're still here and there're many lessons to be learnt. It is going to make you grow.

You're still here and there're many wonderful things to do.

You're still here and many rewards will be waiting.

You're still here and there're tons of people who going to appear in your life, and that's great.

You're still here and life is great.

Even if it doesn't feel great now, I am just going to say that it gets better. It can get better, okay?

Be a little patient. Have a little faith in yourself and things will change. So keep on keeping on.

My gift to Steemit:

As I wrote in a previous post, I am extremely grateful for Steemit. It allowed me to be a writer and make some good money at the side, which pretty much funded my trip to Chiang Mai recently.

So here's me paying back-

1) If you need some advice or a third-party perspective on whatever problem you have, I am here for you. You may drop a comment here, email me [email protected] or add me on Facebook here.

(If you're wondering why this seems very drawn-out, the reason is that I do not want to call myself a life coach, guru, expert or anything like that. As risky as that is as it make my positioning go "off", I still stick by it. I am not perfect and I hate to come across as flaky.

That said, it most certainly goes hand in hand with my honest and real style when it comes to self-help. That's what my readers love me for. Hence, if you want unconventional advice that tells you the truth and kicks your ass, this is for you.)

2) I will write up a piece of fiction for you. This is honestly to help me too. I love to write and create tales. I could use some ideas! Send it to me and I will write it up and post it on Steemit by end of the week.

3) I will dance for you.

Erm... yeah. I am a Bboy. If you want a dance video along with a shoutout, let me know. Check the gif below for an example!

I don't care if one hundred people request for a video. I will dedicate myself to this. It will help me improve anyway! So bring it on! Haha.

Again, thanks Steemit! Love y'all!

Peace,

Alden  

P.S. I am 32 years young for those who are wondering. Nobody ever gets my age right anyway since I have immortal genes.

www.Alden-Tan.com

Follow me here on Steemit! @aldentan

Support my work here on Patreon if you like my writing. Peace!

Upvote, resteem and comment ya?

 

Sort:  

I really enjoyed your post, thank you for sharing with us. Enjoy the vote!

Congratulations for your birthday.

That said, it most certainly goes hand in hand with my honest and real style when it comes to self-help. That's what my readers love me for.

I agree. At least that is why I am following you. I do not like optimistic people, I prefer people being realistic and telling the bad part before.

Interesting... can we connect so you can tell me more about this?

What do you mean by connecting? Talking in private? Sure, I will send you an email later.

Thanks man. Have you sent it?

Yes, subject "I am ropaga from Steemit"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33