Every little bit of promotion counts! Come and help me with my presentation about Steemit.

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit’s popularity has been growing recently. Its price is going up that’s definitely one of the reasons, but massive reason is also the promo that is being done by all the users. It’s this kind of cyclical triangle…one couldn’t be without the other one (or rather wouldn’t be as effective). @Unmean-stweets told like a week ago, about this matter, to me those wise words: “every little bit counts”. This is so true since every single potential new user can bring so much value to the platform. I decided to tell you about my biggest “success” in promoting Steemit and my future plans. I want to show how every little bit of an effort can lead to awesome outcomes.

Our University has been visited by an Italian scholar Massimo Riva. He is the director of Virtual Humanities Lab. In a nutshell it is a centre of lot of projects mainly about digitalization of old Italian artistry. There are plenty of interesting projects there. For instance the digitalization of Garibaldi’s panorama. This piece of art rendered me breathless for couple of seconds. The gigantic scroll has been photographed in a specially constructed photographic lab. The centuries of examination of such a scroll has been compressed into who-knows-how-long commentary of all the scenes of the panorama. Also a special interactive Microsoft table (this is where it starts to suck…I’ll explain later on) has been created to make the piece of art accessible to public.

Throughout his presentation Massimo complained about the problem of judging the exact contribution of all the people who worked on any given project, which I used to start a long conversation. In centralized system it doesn’t really matter whether you know that or not – It’s only the ego that cares…and also potential future contracts. The scholars receive a grant and they have to fulfil the goal that has been set at the beginning. No one receives no extra money for any given amount of contribution to the project (if they don’t steal it of course… in our country often times practiced tactic), every1 just have to work their asses off to pull the desired outcome, otherwise the money would be taken away from them. Other flows of centralized systems are, in this case, for instance the inability to use any other (read better) device than the Microsoft table. If it sucks, or if anyone comes up with better solution, you’re stuck in the old way. You’re stuck in the Babylon.

That’s why I presented him Steemit. I told him that a project called Pevo, that was introduced by @pharesim, is trying to get an academic ground onto a decentralized platform. I didn’t have time to study its whitepaper yet so that was all I could have said at that time. Then I introduced him to Steemit. I summed up all the information I deemed vital. We agreed on the fact, that if we want to really support science, we need to use a Blockchain technology. I can be really persuasive when I need to, but it was clear he himself has thought about it in the past (even though he didn’t know the terminology), so we were on the same boat from the beginning. He wanted to stay in touch and I will definitely contact him when my knowledge about Pevo will be sufficient. We have to start somewhere and introducing scholars to this awesome platform is a hell of a start! It could lead to respected scholars, like Massimo himself, joining Steemit, or maybe the whole Italian department of Brown University. I will try to accomplish the same on the ground of my University (Institute of Information science).

I will also tell you about my upcoming presentation about Steemit. After one of my exams I have been sitting in a park smoking my little joint feeling grateful. I have seen few friends tossing frisbee in a really chilled manner. On last tournament I have managed to break my finger on my main arm, but I decided to go and toss a bit with my other arm. Through those guys I was introduced to a “community of people that love each other and science”. That was pretty attractive to me. They told me that in one week they have a “presentation night”. I told them that I think this community would be interested in Steemit. After few more minutes I was already agreeing on taking part in their night with my presentation of Steemit.IMG_20180814_141720.png
I have been on Steemit for about month now, but I still don’t really feel like I know all the important data about it. I’m asking for help. If you guys could help me to realize all the important stuff I would be really thankful. I plan to speak about:

Blockchain
Cryptocurrency
Basics of how Steemit works
Place for all kinds of topics
Place for teaching/studying
???
Let me know what you would add guys! Help me make this presentation great and attract more people!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29